My Experience and Issues Building IM on Mac OS (Tiger)

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
fmw42
Authentication code: 1152

My Experience and Issues Building IM on Mac OS (Tiger)

Post by fmw42 »

I have been an IM user for less than a year now and have until now been using the binary builds on my Mac OS 10.4 Tiger system. When Apple released OS 10.5 Leopard, IM started building binaries for it and th IM binary for Tiger no longer seems to include X11 display support. It would be nice if this were noted on the IM binary page at http://www.imagemagick.org/script/binar ... php#macosx. This situation may have changed since I last tried to use a Mac IM binary. So I have been stuck at IM 6.3.6.4 until now, as I am a novice at Unix/C and was reluctant to try to build from source.

Recently, I decided to do that as I also needed to help Sean Burke test his FFT routines that we hope eventually to build into IM. So with Sean's help and patience, we spent much of one day, trying to build a functioning IM 6.3.7.9 on my Mac Tiger system.

I want to post my experience for other Mac users. There are several issues that others might profit from my experience.