Out of memory with very large montage

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
Bingo
Posts: 24
Joined: 2007-03-26T03:43:14-07:00

Out of memory with very large montage

Post by Bingo »

Hi all !

We are trying to run this command that tiles about 4000 images ( 600x600 pixels each) into a very large image, but it fails.

Code: Select all

montage tiles_*.png -geometry 600x600+0+0 --with-quantum-depth=8 -limit memory 1GB -limit map 2GB -tile 78x large.png
The -debug cache gives me this information (last 2 lines) :

Code: Select all

2011-01-20T10:27:58+01:00 9:50.103 226.153u 6.6.2 Cache Magick[1548]: cache.c/DestroyPixelCache/1601/Cache
  destroy 
Magick: Memory allocation failed `Not enough space' @ fatal/image.c/AcquireImageInfo/291.
Can I change something in the "-limit" settings for this command to complete ?
Computer is running WinXP (32 bits) with 2GB RAM and 2GB pagefile.

Thanks a lot !
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Out of memory with very large montage

Post by magick »

Add -limit as the first thing on your command line. Use -limit area 0.
Bingo
Posts: 24
Joined: 2007-03-26T03:43:14-07:00

Re: Out of memory with very large montage

Post by Bingo »

I'll try this ASAP, thanks !
Bingo
Posts: 24
Joined: 2007-03-26T03:43:14-07:00

Re: Out of memory with very large montage

Post by Bingo »

I'm coming back with the same command.

Adding -limit area 0 worked fine for most of the images, but for one batch that raises a windows error :
Image

Code: Select all

C:\>identify -version
Version: ImageMagick 6.6.7-2 2011-01-19 Q8 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2011 ImageMagick Studio LLC
Features: OpenMP
I can post the windows error report if you want, but I'm not sure that it will help ?
Do you have any idea to solve this ?

Thansk a lot !
Bingo
Posts: 24
Joined: 2007-03-26T03:43:14-07:00

Re: Out of memory with very large montage

Post by Bingo »

Isn't there a solution to this problem ? I really need to do this montage.
Thanks a lot !
Post Reply