Hi server load

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11149
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Hi server load

Post by magick »

The command you gave us is putting virtually no load on your system. Can you identify another ImageMagick command that might be causing the load? Otherwise we're clueless about what is causing the high server load.

ecoverguru
Posts: 37
Joined: 2010-10-12T12:42:53-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Hi server load

Post by ecoverguru »

I took the same command and pasted in a php file... and did a load test... the php file had only this line

Code: Select all

exec("convert 7058_34_12_534.jpg -crop 55x704+0+0 +repage -virtual-pixel transparent -matte +distort Perspective '0,0,0,0, 0,704,5,227, 55,0,12,6, 55,704,16,237' -sharpen 3x2 spine.png");
with this benchmark command
the output was
Benchmarking www.xxxxxxx.com (be patient).....done

Server Software: Apache/2.2.17
Server Hostname: www.xxxxxx.com
Server Port: 80

Document Path: /itest.php
Document Length: 0 bytes

Concurrency Level: 10
Time taken for tests: 59.354598 seconds
Complete requests: 100
Failed requests: 0
Write errors: 0
Total transferred: 24500 bytes
HTML transferred: 0 bytes
Requests per second: 1.68 [#/sec] (mean)
Time per request: 5935.460 [ms] (mean)
Time per request: 593.546 [ms] (mean, across all concurrent requests)
Transfer rate: 0.39 [Kbytes/sec] received

Connection Times (ms)
min mean[+/-sd] median max
Connect: 0 0 0.0 0 0
Processing: 3329 5825 1260.2 5782 11753
Waiting: 3329 5825 1260.2 5782 11753
Total: 3329 5825 1260.2 5782 11753

Percentage of the requests served within a certain time (ms)
50% 5782
66% 6249
75% 6452
80% 6575
90% 7260
95% 8028
98% 8872
99% 11753
100% 11753 (longest request)
AND

Server load 70.01 (24 CPUs)
Memory Used 3.98% (489460 of 12289768)

ecoverguru
Posts: 37
Joined: 2010-10-12T12:42:53-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Hi server load

Post by ecoverguru »

Whereas the same php file on the old server.. with same test parameters, has server load of 3.28

I know, its really strange and could be difficult to debug the problem.. but I am more clueless than you being a non-techie :( really not sure where things are going wrong..

dimkalinux
Posts: 23
Joined: 2011-01-25T11:47:11-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Hi server load

Post by dimkalinux »

Not only pure cpu load may cause high Load Average - it may be high IO-wait (slow or bad tuned harddrive) or bad tuned webserver... too many reasons and no way to check it without ssh access to server.

If u use Cpanel - its have not optimal performance of apache webserver, cpanel oriented on security, not performace.

Old server has same OS/webserver version and configuration?

ecoverguru
Posts: 37
Joined: 2010-10-12T12:42:53-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Hi server load

Post by ecoverguru »

Yes, I personally setup cpanel with the exact same options from existing server.

I have just asked the datacenter to look into the I/O and if webserver is tuned properly.. the server is with Softlayer...

Morever I have PSM guys do the server maintainance and they have already tweaked the server for higher performance. even so far they are unable find any solution

BTW, the harddive is 300GB SAS 15k

ecoverguru
Posts: 37
Joined: 2010-10-12T12:42:53-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Hi server load

Post by ecoverguru »

I cross checked, cpanel configuration with old one.. the only difference is in new server "UniqueId mod" is not enabled... would that be the cause?

User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11149
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Hi server load

Post by magick »

We ran your benchmark on a 2 processor 2.50GHZ Xeon system and got these acceptable results:
  • Benchmarking www.xxxxxxxxxx.org (be patient).....done


    Server Software: Apache/2.2.3
    Server Hostname: www.imagemagick.org
    Server Port: 80

    Document Path: /itest.php
    Document Length: 0 bytes

    Concurrency Level: 10
    Time taken for tests: 2.321238 seconds
    Complete requests: 100
    Failed requests: 0
    Write errors: 0
    Total transferred: 19000 bytes
    HTML transferred: 0 bytes
    Requests per second: 43.08 [#/sec] (mean)
    Time per request: 232.124 [ms] (mean)
    Time per request: 23.212 [ms] (mean, across all concurrent requests)
    Transfer rate: 7.75 [Kbytes/sec] received

    Connection Times (ms)
    min mean[+/-sd] median max
    Connect: 0 0 0.2 0 2
    Processing: 31 226 228.8 144 1418
    Waiting: 31 226 228.9 144 1417
    Total: 31 226 228.8 144 1418

ecoverguru
Posts: 37
Joined: 2010-10-12T12:42:53-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Hi server load

Post by ecoverguru »

Yes exactly, on a 24core server the load should be negligible.

So I feel there could be following possibilities.

1.. Imagemagick configuration is not correct, which I assume you checked the output and is right?
2.. Some other related library is corrupted or not working properly? I have no idea which other libraries required for imagemagick so we can cross check and reinstall them.
3.. Webserver / Apache is not properly tuned
4.. Hardware issue

ecoverguru
Posts: 37
Joined: 2010-10-12T12:42:53-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Hi server load

Post by ecoverguru »

OMG,

I did couple of tests again and the load seems to be normal this time..

that too on much heavier test..
ab -n 1000 -c 100
Server load 4.33 (24 CPUs)

There were 2 different tech guys were working, so I have asked both of them what they have done... I will surely update this thread so it will help others :)

ecoverguru
Posts: 37
Joined: 2010-10-12T12:42:53-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Hi server load

Post by ecoverguru »

This is really strange.

I asked both the tech guys, and 1 from datacenter said he was about to start investigation was just doing load testing... and the other tech guy said he did not anything extra but just reinstalled new version.

Whereas we still had same problem with new version..

So the conclusion??

I remember I restarted the server once.

And there is problem with this server that some of the services do not restart properly..

So, I just tried to restarted Apache again... that sounds to me like apache was the issue

But anyway, I really appreciate the help "magic" has provided with his prompt replies :)

Thanx again and all the best.

Post Reply