Problem with compression on TIF files

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Spud
Authentication code: 6789

Problem with compression on TIF files

Post by Spud »

Hi, folks. I'm new to ImageMagick and just starting to get to grips with what it can do.

However, I have hit a problem that I can't seem to find a solution for - I'm hoping one of you gurus out there can help me.

What I'm trying to do is conceptually quite simple - I'm trying to convert PDF files (some single, some multi-page) to compressed 300 dpi TIF files (multi-page where necessary).

All works well if I do a:

convert -density 300 file1.pdf file2.tif

However, this creates a huge tif file - that's why I want to compress (ideally with Group4).

So I try a:

convert -density 300 -compress Group4 file1.pdf file2.tif

It produces a tif file, but when I view it in Office viewer (or paste it into Word), it is a sickly green colour. I've tried the same command with zip compression, and this produces an image with a beige background. I've tried playing around with all sorts of background and transparency settings, but I haven't found anything that makes any difference.

I've tried splitting the command into 2. If I do the convert uncompressed I get a large (but otherwise OK) tif file. If I then try to compress that tif file, I'm back to the green background - so it looks like it is the compression that is causing the issue.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks.
dlemstra

Re: Problem with compression on TIF files

Post by dlemstra »

What version of ImageMagick are you using? And can you post a link to your pdf file?
.NET + ImageMagick = Magick.NET https://github.com/dlemstra/Magick.NET, @MagickNET, Donate
fmw42
Authentication code: 1152

Post by fmw42 »