Splitting Batch of 100 images into 5 (500) retain name +0-4

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
leafpressed
Authentication code: 6789

Splitting Batch of 100 images into 5 (500) retain name +0-4

Post by leafpressed »

How do I split a folder of about 100 images into 5 each, the above image would be split and renamed like 18_14+4_97_0(,1,2,3,4)? Input images are 4500 pixels wide, dividing each image into 5x900 pixel wide images... (516 pixels tall...)

Hi, I figured out this on my own before, but I lost my notes :( It seems that there are multiple ways of doing things in ImageMagic :) ImageMagick is a gateway drug for self-taught programming :D

I am downloading weekly ocean tidal graphs for a specific tidal station from a dependable online source, with the goal of cropping, resizing to scale each image (due to the scale of the graph varying from 18 feet to 10 feet in size over the same sizedimage, applying artful filters for less -graph-ey chopy graph line, then splitting each image into 5. I delete days 6 and 7 from the image because in that portion of the image there is a key of the same color as the graph line that sometimes intersects with it and would be nigh impossible to remove from the affected images when I am operating on the whole folder. So not weeks, but groups of 5 days, about 100 of them, representing 70 weeks.

When using convert, *_%d.gif is not working, naming the files *_0,1,2,3,4 and when using mogrify, -crop with -repage and -adjoin is not working, as -adjoin does not seem to be compatible.

mogrify *.gif -crop 5x1@ +repage +adjoin *_%d.gif
OUTCOME mogrify.im6: unrecognized option `+adjoin' @ error/mogrify.c/MogrifyImageCommand/3918.