difference between two files

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
geoland
Authentication code: 6789

difference between two files

Post by geoland »

Hi.

I am attempting to show the difference between two files, image1 and image2, where image1 contains image2.

Image1 is "the image" and image2 is fixed pattern noise. I want to remove the fixed pattern noise with a template, which is image2

I'm new to imagemagick and this has me stumped.

If I apply the code below, I finish up with what looks very much like image2, when in fact what I want is what is left of image1 - image1 contains image2 - sounds like subtraction, but this too has me stumped.

Code: Select all

composite  image1 image2 -compose difference diff
Subtraction should work, but is not ideal because I have a series of images that are almost identical but not exactly. If I apply the following code the images combine with blurring because the images are not exactly aligned - and I don't want them to be. I want to return separate images for further processing, to be combined some time later.

files=(*.tiff); for f in "${files[@]}"; do composite *.tiff MBIAS.tiff -compose Minus_Dst "$f"; done 
Is there a better way of doing this? I have attempted numerous commands without success - difference seems the logical approach. If I understand difference correctly.

This is a pixel math problem, but I would like to find a similar solution in imagemagick.
Version: ImageMagick 7.0.7 (latest compiled from source) Q32 x86_64 (as of) 2018 - 04 - 31 xubuntu
fmw42
Authentication code: 1152

Re: difference between two files

Post by fmw42 »

compose difference is absolute value subtraction. See http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/compose/#difference.