imagemagick files missing

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
syadmin
Posts: 6
Joined: 2015-05-20T03:28:54-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

imagemagick files missing

Post by syadmin » 2015-05-20T03:41:44-07:00

hi guys,

One of my developers was using "ImageMagick-6.8.9-8-Q16-x64-dll.exe" but we are facing the issue of high CPU usage so we tried upgrading to the latest version of imagemagick "ImageMagick-6.9.1-2-Q16-x86-dll.exe" however in the latest version magickcmd.exe file is missing. How would we go about using the functionality without magickcmd?

User avatar
dlemstra
Posts: 1570
Joined: 2013-05-04T15:28:54-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Contact:

Re: imagemagick files missing

Post by dlemstra » 2015-05-20T03:56:34-07:00

Instead of "MagickCmd convert xxxx yyyy" you should use "convert xxxx yyyy". In what kind of situation are you using MagickCmd?
.NET + ImageMagick = Magick.NET https://github.com/dlemstra/Magick.NET, @MagickNET, Donate

syadmin
Posts: 6
Joined: 2015-05-20T03:28:54-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: imagemagick files missing

Post by syadmin » 2015-05-20T05:02:59-07:00

hi we are using it in the following code where we were calling magiccmd so now hwo would i call the below in the latest version?

System.Diagnostics.Process proc2 = new System.Diagnostics.Process();
try
{

proc2.StartInfo.Arguments = “convert "logo.jpg" "logo.png”;

proc2.StartInfo.FileName = “C:\\Program Files\\ImageMagick-6.8.9-Q16\\MagickCMD.exe”;
proc2.StartInfo.UseShellExecute = true;
proc2.StartInfo.CreateNoWindow = true;
proc2.StartInfo.RedirectStandardOutput = false;
proc2.Start();

}
catch (Exception ex)
{
Exceptions.WriteExceptionLog(ex);
}
finally
{
proc2.Dispose();
}

User avatar
dlemstra
Posts: 1570
Joined: 2013-05-04T15:28:54-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Contact:

Re: imagemagick files missing

Post by dlemstra » 2015-05-20T05:49:09-07:00

Instead of calling MagickCMD.exe you should call convert.exe and don't specify convert in the arguments. And since you seem to be using .NET you might also want to take a look at the wrapper that I created that does not require you to install ImageMagick on the server. You can find that here: https://magick.codeplex.com
.NET + ImageMagick = Magick.NET https://github.com/dlemstra/Magick.NET, @MagickNET, Donate

Post Reply