Bug?

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Locked
nweissma
Posts: 6
Joined: 2015-10-17T10:07:22-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Bug?

Post by nweissma »

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/817 ... 010-17.PNG

(i'd like to report to you the 'Q-number' in my signature but I have no idea what the Q-number is or how to find it. nor do i know what API i'm running for IM)
Last edited by nweissma on 2015-10-17T20:06:37-07:00, edited 1 time in total.
ImageMagick-6.9.2-4-Q16-x64-dll.exe
Windows 10 x86 running on x64 hardware: tablet with touchpad keyboard and no mouse.

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 26383
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Bug?

Post by fmw42 »


This is insufficient information. Please read viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9620

The Q level is available from
convert -version
typically Q16 for default installs. See your signature line.

I am not a Windows user, so cannot really help further. Perhaps your install was bad. Did you install a 64-bit version of IM on a 32-bit computer? What exact install did you do? Do other IM functions work from the command line? Can you display an image created by IM from some other tool?

What does your linked image have to do with Magickwand? It seems to be more about running Imagemagick Display?

nweissma
Posts: 6
Joined: 2015-10-17T10:07:22-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Bug?

Post by nweissma »

fmw42 wrote:

This is insufficient information. Please read viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9620


What does your linked image have to do with Magickwand? It seems to be more about running Imagemagick Display?
Sorry - I saw the wand icon and assumed it was Magickwand. nevertheless, what is the failure that's being reported?
ImageMagick-6.9.2-4-Q16-x64-dll.exe
Windows 10 x86 running on x64 hardware: tablet with touchpad keyboard and no mouse.

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 26383
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Bug?

Post by fmw42 »

what is the failure that's being reported?
That is what I am asking you. What is the issue/problem? And how did you install Imagemagick? What binary or was it from source?

As I am not a Windows user I do not know anything about ImageMagick Display on the PC. Basically Imagemagick is a command line driven app. There is no substantial GUI for it.

Does your Imagemagick work from the command line in your COMMAND window? Type these there:

Code: Select all

convert -version
Does it return your version information? If so, then type

Code: Select all

convert logo: logo.gif
If that does not fail, then can you then display logol.gif in some other viewer (such as Irfanview or just drop it in your browser)?

Hopefully, one of the IM Windows users can be of more help.

snibgo
Posts: 13034
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Bug?

Post by snibgo »

I don't use Windows 10.

On Windows 8.1, a desktop link to "imdisplay.exe" works fine. I can drag-n-drop image files to it and view them.

If it didn't work, I would first look at the properties of the icon. Does it link to the correct program? Does the security allow me to run it? Does a compatability mode help?
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

nweissma
Posts: 6
Joined: 2015-10-17T10:07:22-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Bug?

Post by nweissma »

fmw42 wrote:Hopefully, one of the IM Windows users can be of more help.
he would need to be an IM Windows user who's located in New York City because this degree of bewilderment will not be settled by online discourse.
ImageMagick-6.9.2-4-Q16-x64-dll.exe
Windows 10 x86 running on x64 hardware: tablet with touchpad keyboard and no mouse.

nweissma
Posts: 6
Joined: 2015-10-17T10:07:22-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Bug?

Post by nweissma »

fmw42 wrote:And how did you install Imagemagick? What binary or was it from source?
it is the binary shown in my signature: ImageMagick-6.9.2-4-Q16-x64-dll.exe
ImageMagick-6.9.2-4-Q16-x64-dll.exe
Windows 10 x86 running on x64 hardware: tablet with touchpad keyboard and no mouse.

User avatar
glennrp
Posts: 1147
Joined: 2006-04-01T08:16:32-07:00
Location: Maryland 39.26.30N 76.16.01W

Re: Bug?

Post by glennrp »

You are trying to run a 64-bit executable. The error message, that it won't run on your PC, probably means you have a 32-bit PC. See if downloading and installing ImageMagick-6.9.2-4-Q16-x86-dll.exe works for you.

Locked