re: Install ImageMagick on window

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
minhtran
Authentication code: 1151

re: Install ImageMagick on window

Post by minhtran »

Hello, I am a newbie and I tried to install ImageMagick on window for my school project. I google some sites on installation , and one of the site recommended running Cygwin and ImageMagick. It may serve purpose since I want to run ImageMagick command line though Cygwin. Cygwin is installed and running, and I try next to install ImageMagick. However, when I tried to install
ImageMagick through cywin command line such as following from the note:
$ gzip -dc /path/to/package.tar.gz| tar -xf-

It came back and said
gzip: /path/to/package.tar.gz: No such file or directory
tar: This does not look like a tar archive
tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors

I maybe missing some important things so if you could spot what I am missing, please let me know.
Also what would you suggest if I need to install both cygwin and Imagemagick in order to run the ImageMagick command line? Is this necessary or you may have a better way to do it?

Many thanks!!
snibgo

Re: re: Install ImageMagick on window

Post by snibgo »

minhtran wrote:Also what would you suggest if I need to install both cygwin and Imagemagick in order to run the ImageMagick command line?
When you have installed IM on Windows, you can run it from the Windows command line, or from the Cygwin command line. The ordinary Windows binary (from http://www.imagemagick.org/script/download.php#windows ) works fine with Cygwin.

See my page IM with Cygwin

If you want to build IM under Cygwin, see Compiling IM with Cygwin
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
Bonzo

Post by Bonzo »