Grab screenshoot of specific window on Windows OS

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
zephirus
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-04-18T07:22:53-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Grab screenshoot of specific window on Windows OS

Post by zephirus »

Hi,

I need to get a screenshoot of a specific window inside a software. This in on Windows OS. I need to use the command line because I will be integrating this in automatic tests.

How can I do it? After some research the only thing I found was for Linux, not Windows.

Is this even possible in Windows OS?

Thank you.
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Grab screenshoot of specific window on Windows OS

Post by snibgo »

IM can capture the entire screen:

Code: Select all

magick screenshot: s.png
IrfanView is more flexible, and can capture the entire screen or just the foreground window or some other opions, but not any named window.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
zephirus
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-04-18T07:22:53-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Re: Grab screenshoot of specific window on Windows OS

Post by zephirus »

snibgo wrote: 2018-04-18T07:51:20-07:00 IM can capture the entire screen:

Code: Select all

magick screenshot: s.png
IrfanView is more flexible, and can capture the entire screen or just the foreground window or some other opions, but not any named window.
Thank you for your help. Does it work with command line?
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Grab screenshoot of specific window on Windows OS

Post by snibgo »

Yes.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
Post Reply