Convert psd "maximum channels exceeded"

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
lugiber
Posts: 5
Joined: 2013-10-21T09:05:12-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Convert psd "maximum channels exceeded"

Post by lugiber »

I'm trying to convert a psd to a tiff with this command:

Code: Select all

convert -flatten 90506-35_7681.psd 90506-35_7681.tif
And I'm getting this error:

Code: Select all

convert: maximum channels exceeded `90506-35_7681.psd' @ error/psd.c/ReadPSDLayersInternal/1706.
convert: no images defined `90506-35_7681.tif' @ error/convert.c/ConvertImageCommand/3288.
convert --version ouputs this:

Code: Select all

Version: ImageMagick 7.0.8-11 Q16 x86_64 2018-09-14 https://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: © 1999-2018 ImageMagick Studio LLC
License: https://www.imagemagick.org/script/license.php
Features: Cipher DPC HDRI OpenMP 
Delegates (built-in): bzlib djvu fftw fontconfig freetype jbig jng jpeg lcms lqr lzma openexr pangocairo png tiff wmf x xml zlib
The psd is saved with Photoshop CC2018 and the file works great to convert if I save it as a tif.
You can download the psd here:

http://transfer.turbin.se/d.php?f=90506_35_7681.zip

Please let me know if you have any ideas!
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Convert psd "maximum channels exceeded"

Post by fmw42 »

Your syntax is wrong. Read the input before -flatten. Nevertheless, ImageMagick currently cannot read more than one extra channel. It can only read RGB and one Alpha channel.
lugiber
Posts: 5
Joined: 2013-10-21T09:05:12-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Convert psd "maximum channels exceeded"

Post by lugiber »

Thanks so much for your reply!
Just to make sure, when you are writing:

Code: Select all

Nevertheless, ImageMagick currently cannot read more than one extra channel.
I suppose that you mean that only applies to psd files. Because ImageMagick can read the exact same file, with the exact same layers if it's saved as a tif.
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Convert psd "maximum channels exceeded"

Post by magick »

We're using ImageMagick 7.0.8-12. Your image converts for us without complaint.
lugiber
Posts: 5
Joined: 2013-10-21T09:05:12-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Convert psd "maximum channels exceeded"

Post by lugiber »

Thanks @magick!
I compiled ImageMagick 7.0.8-12 and it seems like the problems are fixed since the update!
Post Reply