Defaults or how to find MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
spaceguns
Authentication code: 1152

Defaults or how to find MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH

Post by spaceguns »

Context - can skip to ISSUE if you want to get right to what I am trying to do.
Apologies for a possible newbie question, I am a hobbyist. I am working on an image program at home and part of it involves processing pdf files. Currently all this is written in python and running on a windows machine and utilizing Wand/ImageMagick/Ghostscript to do the pdf processing. Occasionally, a CorruptImageError is thrown, which I can live with/analysis of is for a different issue.

The problem is when this happens and ImageMagick chokes it leaves behind some often sizable temp files magick-(numbers/letters) at MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH. In my case this is at %LOCALAPPDATA%\Temp

I have researched this and it seems to be an acknowledged issue with the solution being to run an occasional script/cron job to clear those out. What I would like to do is add this to the end of my program so once the program completes it will go through the MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH location and clear out all the magick- files. I can do this at %LOCALAPPDATA%\Temp but I want this to be able to run anywhere/on any os/settings path.

ISSUE
How would I best locate MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH in an os/install independent way?

In python I can call sys.platform.startswith(osname) to identify the os I am on but even then assuming MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH will be the install default for that os wouldn't be the best way to go.

Is there a way, preferably in python, that I can get the MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH so I can then run through it?