Corruption in pdf to tif conversion

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
rexmism
Posts: 8
Joined: 2014-10-14T13:33:51-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Corruption in pdf to tif conversion

Post by rexmism » 2019-02-06T08:52:22-07:00

I've been using ImageMagick to convert pdfs created by Access to tifs. This has been working fine for several months, but the other day, a different user created a pdf file of many pages, and when converted, they are all corrupt:
Image
The command I'm running to convert them is:
C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-6.8.9-Q16\convert" -density 150 -quality 100 -sharpen 0x1.0 -resample 300x300 -compress group4 -type bilevel -monochrome "%%~nxI" "%%~nI@%%02d.tif"

Any thoughts on what might be causing this?

snibgo
Posts: 11596
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Corruption in pdf to tif conversion

Post by snibgo » 2019-02-06T08:57:27-07:00

rexmism wrote:Any thoughts on what might be causing this?
As you haven't linked to the PDF, we can only guess. Perhaps the PDF uses a font that isn't embedded in the file or available on the computer.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

rexmism
Posts: 8
Joined: 2014-10-14T13:33:51-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Corruption in pdf to tif conversion

Post by rexmism » 2019-02-06T09:36:51-07:00

Unfortunately I can't provide the PDF because it's sensitive information. Thanks for the idea, but I don't know why that would be the case when the files generated by Access have been working fine previously.

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 24928
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Corruption in pdf to tif conversion

Post by fmw42 » 2019-02-06T11:09:18-07:00

Has your version of Ghostscript changed? What is the version? I have heard problems with GS 9.26. If so, back off to 9.23 or 9.24

rexmism
Posts: 8
Joined: 2014-10-14T13:33:51-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Corruption in pdf to tif conversion

Post by rexmism » 2019-02-06T12:40:19-07:00

The Ghostscript version hasn't changed for me. I did get a piece of compelling evidence, though. To create the PDFs, they use print to PDF, and I found that the user creating the trouble file is using a different printer - Microsoft Print to PDF, instead of the usual Adobe PDF printer. Is it possible this could be the problem? It's the only difference I can find.

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 24928
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Corruption in pdf to tif conversion

Post by fmw42 » 2019-02-06T17:48:40-07:00

I do not understand how a printer can create a PDF? Please clarify?

Post Reply