Progressive Scan JPEGs

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Locked
Ninja Joe
Posts: 10
Joined: 2020-03-27T21:18:48-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Progressive Scan JPEGs

Post by Ninja Joe »

I love using Convert for converting multiple images into JPEG format, e.g.:

convert *.png -set filename:fname %t_b +adjoin %[filename:fname].jpg

But is it possible to save JPEGs with Progressive Scans? I like to save my JPEGs with multiple Progressive Scans as it's considered to be best practice for the Web. For example, Photoshop allows one to save a JPEGs as Progressive with an option for 3, 4 or 5 scans.

Does such an option exist? I was thinking the flag would look something like -progressive 3, progressive 5, etc. If it exists in ImageMagick, does it let you adjust the number of scans?

snibgo
Posts: 13034
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Progressive Scan JPEGs

Post by snibgo »

snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

Ninja Joe
Posts: 10
Joined: 2020-03-27T21:18:48-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Re: Progressive Scan JPEGs

Post by Ninja Joe »

Looks like -interlace Plane is the way to go according to:

https://github.com/contao/image/issues/24

Locked