How to detect corrupt data

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Post by magick » 2006-07-19T20:21:46-07:00

Can you post a URL to one of your corrupt JPEG images. We would like to download it and reproduce the problem you are having.

User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Post by magick » 2006-07-24T07:12:59-07:00

We will investigate but in general a status other than 0 means ImageMagick could not complete an operation. The exception you are receiving is a warning that a particular scanline had a problem but overall the image could be read. This command for example,
  • convert nosuchimage.gif image.png
correctly returns a status of 1 because no part of the image was read.

User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Post by magick » 2006-07-24T16:42:41-07:00

We'll add a -regard-warnings option to the command line utilities to address the issue you raised. Look for a patch in ImageMagick 6.2.8-6 Beta within a day or two.

User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Post by magick » 2006-08-07T18:47:44-07:00

It seems to work properly for a corrupt GIF image but not JPEG. Will patch ImageMagick 6.2.9 Beta within a day or two. Thanks.

Post Reply