Batch resizing TGAs with alpha channels

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 10869
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Post by magick » 2006-09-20T13:37:04-07:00

Can you post a URL to one of your TGA images. TGA with alpha support should work. We need to reproduce the problem before we can help.

User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 10869
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Post by magick » 2006-09-20T14:09:53-07:00

We tried a couple of programs on your image and they all concur your image does not have an alpha channel. Which program are you using that suggests it does have an alpha channel?

User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 10869
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Post by magick » 2006-09-20T17:15:31-07:00

We're using ImageMagick 6.2.9-6, the current release. We get reasonable images without artifacts. Try saving the results to PNG and viewing the image with a web browser. Do you still get black areas in the corner?

User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8871
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post by anthony » 2006-09-20T23:21:55-07:00

I might add to that with...

Do NOT use IE v6 for viewing PNG with transparency, it is broken unless you use some trickiery. Use FireFox or IE v7 (if available).
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/

Post Reply