recomendations to improve speed?

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
rgwillia

recomendations to improve speed?

Post by rgwillia »

I am trying to automate a process that takes a print job in PostScript format and converts it to a tiff image. The standard "convert image.ps image.tiff" is not nearly high enough quality to read. The files are scanned in B&W documents (no greyscale needed) that were sent via a print job to a server that saved them in PS format. I found that I needed to increase the density to around 200 to be able to read the documents. Each document is between 10 and 20 pages. The desired file size is less than 1mb. (we have other applications that use similar files that are easily able to accomplish this with tiff images)

I am new at this but here is my command so far.

convert -density 200 image.ps -colorspace GRAY -monochrome -compress Group4 image.tiff

The PostScript file is about 9mb and the output file is about 0.5mb. Each file is taking about 6min to process and I will have upwards of 300 of these to process each day. Unless I find a way to get myself 30 hours in a day I need to do someting to speed this process up.

The machine running the conversion is a fairly high speed machine and the OS is hosted in a VMWare ESX virtual machine Running Suse 10.2 using ImageMagick 6.3.0.
magick
Site Admin

Re: recomendations to improve speed?

Post by magick »

Try the following command:
  • convert -limit area 4096 -limit memory 4096 -density 200 -monochrome +antialias image.ps -compress Group4 image.tiff
You might get some additional speed improvements with the latest ImageMagick release, 6.3.2-9.
anthony
Authentication code: 8675308

Post by anthony »