Is it possible to use ImageMagick for creating GIMP?

Post here to shower the ImageMagick developers with praise or discuss how you could have done a better job if you developed ImageMagick. Or talk about how Photoshop is better than ImageMagick. Even complain about how no one answered your postings in the Users forum. Venting and musings welcomed here.
Post Reply
RyanBram
Posts: 26
Joined: 2013-03-25T22:55:10-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Is it possible to use ImageMagick for creating GIMP?

Post by RyanBram » 2014-08-19T05:38:55-07:00

Hi All.
As an ImageMagick user I just wonder why it seems there aren't developers who interest to use ImageMagick as base for their image manipulation program.
There are very few GUI program for ImageMagick. Even GIMP use GEGL for their image manipulation engine.

Can anybody share to me, is it possible to use ImageMagick for creating application like GIMP?
If yes, why I feel more programmers not interest for using it more than just a batch processing tools? Is it just personal preference, technical problem, or political obstacle?

Regards,

RyanBram
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate, 32-Bit
CPU: Intel Core i3 2350M @ 2.30GHz
RAM: 2.00 GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz
IM Version: 6.8.3-8 2013-03-04 Q16
Features: DPC OpenMP
Delegates: bzlib fontconfig freetype jng jp2 jpeg lcms lzma pango png ps tiff x xml zlib

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 21514
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Is it possible to use ImageMagick for creating GIMP?

Post by fmw42 » 2014-08-19T09:41:24-07:00

I believe it is just a large scale project that not many want to undertake. There are a few who have done so. See https://github.com/jcupitt/nip2.
Also if you search the forum, some Windows developers had undertaken a GUI front end for IM. Perhaps one of the Windows users can point you to the post.

Bonzo
Posts: 2811
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: Is it possible to use ImageMagick for creating GIMP?

Post by Bonzo » 2014-08-19T09:52:14-07:00

This is Alan Hadley's website and it mentions IM version 6 but I believe he is now working on IM version 7 but I do not have a link to anything.

http://hadleyweb.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/CZIM_Intro.htm

snibgo
Posts: 9031
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Is it possible to use ImageMagick for creating GIMP?

Post by snibgo » 2014-08-19T12:46:51-07:00

Gimp with an IM backend would be great.

The technical difficulty is that Gimp works with 8 bits/channel/pixel, and there would be no point in a Gimp-IM interface with this limitation. (The nip2-IM interface is fairly simple because nip2 doesn't have an 8-bit limitation.)

So a good Gimp-IM interface couldn't be built incrementally. Someone would need to rip the guts out of Gimp and replace it with IM. This is a major task, probably no easier than converting Gimp to arbitrary bit-length, or writing a brand new GUI for IM.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

Digit
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017-04-05T08:22:08-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Is it possible to use ImageMagick for creating GIMP?

Post by Digit » 2017-04-05T08:26:35-07:00

twould be lovely though.
i'd chip in money to help see it become a reality.

snibgo
Posts: 9031
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Is it possible to use ImageMagick for creating GIMP?

Post by snibgo » 2017-04-05T08:42:00-07:00

Beta versions of Gimp now have higher bit depths. It's only beta-test, but seems entirely usable. So a back-end interface from Gimp to IM would be feasible. If images were interchange via files, it wouldn't be fast.

For my own purposes, I built a Windows program that takes skeleton IM commands and automatically creates sliders and other controls for editing image tone, colour balance and so on. But Gimp can now do this quite well, at good bit-depths.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

Post Reply