Page 1 of 1

Can we use ImageMagick without Installing

Posted: 2010-10-22T01:37:23-07:00
by jairainbow
Hi,

I am developing a java based tool and need the fuctionality of image convertion. I want to use ImageMagick so i installed IM and used Jmagick . It is working fine . But when i want to ship my tool i want to package the IM but don't want IM to intall in client machine. can i get the functionality of IM as exe? or directly i can use it as like jar or dll

Re: Can we use ImageMagick without Installing

Posted: 2010-10-26T00:32:55-07:00
by anthony
You can build a 'uninstalled' version of IM that uses a environment variable to define
its location.

See notes in
http://www.cit.griffith.edu.au/~anthony ... gick.hints
and in the Offical resources Document
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/resources.php

Re: Can we use ImageMagick without Installing

Posted: 2010-11-11T20:06:18-07:00
by touchstone81
Hello,
I am using Image to cover EPS to PNG. I have built some core_db/rl_XX.dll and im_mod_db/rl_XXX.dll. When I moved my program to another computer, it show missing dll. Therefore, I found and copied from my installed ImageMagick to current folder in another computer. But couldn't run when no missing dll message is shown.
Is it possible to be more specific about how to build uninstalled version of ImageMagic in windows? Thank you very much.

Re: Can we use ImageMagick without Installing

Posted: 2010-11-11T23:13:04-07:00
by anthony
Imagemagick is a large and complicated beast. Because of this it requires a lot of files for configuration and many modules (dll's) which it only loads as needed for handling various file formats (codecs).

You can NOT just simply move the program and expect it to work.

Even if you make a 'static' build without modules. Many configuration files could be needed to define things like color names, error messages, delegate programs (like ghostscript command calls) and fonts to draw. You can use such a version without those configuration files, but it would be a pain to use IM in that condition.

If you have built an 'uninstalled' version everything it needs can be placed in one "prefix" directory and that directory can be specified at run time using the MAGICK_HOME environment variable. As such so the whole directory can be copied, and moved as needed.

But you can not just simply move the command by itself!!!!

Re: Can we use ImageMagick without Installing

Posted: 2010-11-16T11:13:35-07:00
by touchstone81
Thank you very much for the explanation.

I have downloaded ImageMagick-6.6.5 and use it to build some dlls from VisualMagick. (I did miss some module from this.) How may I build "all" "uninstalled" module? Thanks.