convert .ai to .tiff

Questions and postings pertaining to the development of ImageMagick, feature enhancements, and ImageMagick internals. ImageMagick source code and algorithms are discussed here. Usage questions which are too arcane for the normal user list should also be posted here.
manuel.estevez

convert .ai to .tiff

Post by manuel.estevez »

Hi mates,I am a spanish developer, sorry about my english.
I want to convert a file from adobe ilustrator (.ai) to .tiff, but I want to convert it with transparence, i.e. , my .ai file has transparence and a vector image, and when I convert this file to .tiff with convert command, my end file (.tiff) haven´t transparence or have transparece but with a little white border, it depence of commands.

My ai file is onlye a black spot,ok?

My command line is:

convert -depth 8 -alpha on FILE.ai FILE tiff
or
convert -depth 8 -transparent #FFFFFFFF -alpha on FILE.ai FILE tiff

HELP!! PLEASE
fmw42
Authentication code: 1152

Re: convert .ai to .tiff

Post by fmw42 »

Can you provide a link to your test file, so others can test with it? Is your file possibly in CMYK color space?

Have you tried

convert FILE.ai -depth 8 FILE.tiff

or

convert FILE.ai FILE.tiff

or

convert FILE.ai -type PaletteMatte FILE.tiff
anthony
Authentication code: 8675308

Post by anthony »

Note that a ".ai" file is actually a psotscript ".ps" file. As such it is a vector image that needs to be 'drawn' at a specific density.

See A word about Vector Image Formats
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/formats/#vector
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
manuel.estevez

Post by manuel.estevez »

Update.
We have tried al these methods:
-depth 8 (we want 8 bits)
-transparent #FFFFFFFFF ( because the imagemagick "thinks" that the file has white backgroung
-alpha on, off, set, transparent, shape...
-palleteMatte
-compress LZW
-colorspace
-type TRUECOLOR
-channel RGB
...etc...