Application of Jinc to texture filtering?

Discuss digital image processing techniques and algorithms. We encourage its application to ImageMagick but you can discuss any software solutions here.
BryantMoore
Authentication code: 8675308

Application of Jinc to texture filtering?

Post by BryantMoore »

I'm by no means a programmer, but I've been wondering how well true 2D radially symmetric resamplers like Jinc would benefit texture filtering for applications in 3D graphics such as video games. From what I understand, the fact that Jinc is radially symmetric is what eliminates aliasing over separable methods like bilinear. Bilinear has been used in video games for something like 15 years now. I've done my own tests on enlarged, perspective distorted textures from various games which I have posted a comparison from below. It seems to give a noticeable improvement in quality.

Triangle (Bilinear)

LanczosSharp
anthony

Re: Application of Jinc to texture filtering?

Post by anthony »

yes I can see a big improvement on the full sized images. Mostly with 'blocking' effects. These may be cased by the use of a bilinear interpolated lookup of the texture pattern.

The problem with radially filtered images is that you are working with a 2-d area, rather than fast unscaled interpolation of the nearest 4 pixels, that your results seem to be using. Basically a interpolated lookup is must must faster but produces sever aliasing effects, unless a 'pyramid' type texture mapping scheme is also used to provide pre-scaled pixel lookups (IM can not do this at this time).

You can try this in IM using +filter -interpolate bilinear

This same fact also means that IM should even do better in terms of quality than some of the commercial lens distortion programs out there because of its use of radial filters, rather than interpolated lookup. It just does not have the automatic camera to distort parameter lookup those programs have to make it easy to use.