optimizing performance in my application

Magick++ is an object-oriented C++ interface to ImageMagick. Use this forum to discuss, make suggestions about, or report bugs concerning Magick++.
tsftd
Authentication code: 8675308

optimizing performance in my application

Post by tsftd »

Okay, so I have a working and nearly feature complete application. At this point, I'm beginning to work on optimization rather than just getting it to do what I want. FYI, I'm not a professional programmer, but have worked on and off with Magick++ for several years.

What the program does, in a nutshell, is batch-create images for use in education. Primarily flashcards, but it can also do things like convert said flashcards into smaller cards for use in games, or bingo sheets, or simple (e.g. Snakes & Ladders) boardgames. Basically, it reads an INI file (and optionally, commandline arguments) and makes the (overall image) canvas, then it will create an additional layer, stick text/images/draws onto that layer, and paste the layer onto the canvas. Rinse and repeat. So, for instance, to make the small cards, it will make a canvas, then draw a grid onto it (as a cutting aid and border for the cards), and then paste the images into the appropriate places between the guides.

I have internally threaded most operations, as I found that there were some things that Magick++ didn't thread. So just about everything runs in concurrence, only pausing for threads to end when syncing is required.

My main query is how to improve the performance of the Magick++ side of things. For instance, I'm using annotate to draw my text; is this the most efficient method for doing so, or would draw be faster? When I'm, for example, composeing a small layer onto a (relatively) small section of the main image, would it be faster to use the pixel cache, or would the overhead of initializing it outweigh any performance gains? Would converting the Image to a blob help (currently, I only use Images)?