Is it possible to use GPU while working with Magick++?

Magick++ is an object-oriented C++ interface to ImageMagick. Use this forum to discuss, make suggestions about, or report bugs concerning Magick++.
Post Reply
Airon65
Posts: 75
Joined: 2017-02-26T02:19:38-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Is it possible to use GPU while working with Magick++?

Post by Airon65 »

I need to process many big images using Magick++. It's very hard work for CPU.
Is it possible to use GPU while working with Magick++?
It would be nice for the speed of processing those images :)
Airon65
Posts: 75
Joined: 2017-02-26T02:19:38-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Is it possible to use GPU while working with Magick++?

Post by Airon65 »

I have installed ImageMagick with "--with-opencl" option enabled.
I've just found that I can use:

Code: Select all

Magick::EnableOpenCL();
at the start of the app. Is that enough to run blur (and some other functions) using GPU? Seems that I doesn't see the difference of the performance :)
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Is it possible to use GPU while working with Magick++?

Post by fmw42 »

I know nothing about Magick++, but see http://www.imagemagick.org/script/opencl.php
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Is it possible to use GPU while working with Magick++?

Post by snibgo »

Airon65 wrote:I have installed ImageMagick with "--with-opencl" option enabled.
Did you get OpenCL? Your config.log will tell you. The ./configure option (at least for IM v6.9.3-7) is "--enable-opencl".
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
Post Reply