PNG32/PNG64 has broken.

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
246246
Posts: 126
Joined: 2015-07-06T07:38:22-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

PNG32/PNG64 has broken.

Post by 246246 » 2017-05-18T00:02:00-07:00

On Windows 7 (64bit)

p:\tmp>magick -version
Version: ImageMagick 7.0.5-6 Q16 x64 2017-05-13 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2015 ImageMagick Studio LLC
License: http://www.imagemagick.org/script/license.php
Visual C++: 180040629
Features: Cipher DPC HDRI Modules OpenMP Delegates (built-in): bzlib cairo flif freetype jng jp2 jpeg lcms lqr openexr pangocairo png ps rsvg tiff webp xml zlib

Both of

p:\tmp>magick logo: PNG32:logo32.png
p:\tmp>magick logo: PNG64:logo64.png

generate all transparent image. However, no problem with the following:

p:\tmp>magick rose: PNG32:rose32.png
p:\tmp>magick rose: PNG64:rose64.png

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 21709
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: PNG32/PNG64 has broken.

Post by fmw42 » 2017-05-18T09:13:56-07:00

I can confirm

magick logo: PNG32:logo32.png

produces fully transparent image on IM 7.0.5.6 Q16 Mac OSX

User avatar
GeeMack
Posts: 434
Joined: 2015-12-01T22:09:46-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: Central Illinois, USA

Re: PNG32/PNG64 has broken.

Post by GeeMack » 2017-05-18T09:28:45-07:00

fmw42 wrote:
2017-05-18T09:13:56-07:00
I can confirm

magick logo: PNG32:logo32.png

produces fully transparent image on IM 7.0.5.6 Q16 Mac OSX
It may or may not be helpful to solving the issue, but adding "-alpha set" after reading in the image outputs an image that is not transparent.

Code: Select all

magick logo: -alpha set PNG32:logo32.png

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 21709
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: PNG32/PNG64 has broken.

Post by fmw42 » 2017-05-18T09:39:25-07:00

Yes, that does work (stop-gap). But IM 7 does not match IM 6 in this regard. In IM 6, that is not needed.

Perhaps it has to do with logo: being 8-bit palette and rose: being 24-bit color.

User avatar
glennrp
Posts: 1160
Joined: 2006-04-01T08:16:32-07:00
Location: Maryland 39.26.30N 76.16.01W

Re: PNG32/PNG64 has broken.

Post by glennrp » 2017-05-18T10:10:14-07:00

Confirmed that this bug exists in 7.0.5-0 and as far back as 7.0.1-0.
Version 6.9.8-5 produces a correct png32 but a fully transparent png64.

Post Reply