Possible bug related to the ‘geometry’ property

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
to7m
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-09-13T17:29:07-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Possible bug related to the ‘geometry’ property

Post by to7m » 2017-09-13T17:44:33-07:00

Hi all,

I think I found a bug in the ‘convert’ program.

convert -size 15x4 xc:#000000 1.png
convert -extract 12x4+3+0 1.png 2.png
convert 2.png -resize 3 3.png
convert -extract 2x1+0+0 3.png 4.png
identify *

If I'm right, 4.png should be a 2x1 file, but it is instead 1x1. These seems dependent on the ‘geometry’ property as listed by ‘identify’. Could someone confirm this is a bug, or if it isn't explain the ‘geometry’ property to me please?

Version: ImageMagick 6.9.9-13 Q16 x86_64 2017-09-13

User avatar
glennrp
Posts: 1163
Joined: 2006-04-01T08:16:32-07:00
Location: Maryland 39.26.30N 76.16.01W

Re: Possible bug related to the ‘geometry’ property

Post by glennrp » 2017-09-13T17:57:10-07:00

Confirmed the behavior you observed.
You can get the result you expected by adding "+repage" to the third line:

Code: Select all

convert 2.png -resize 3 +repage 3.png
The recorded offset is interfering somehow with the conversion.
You can also get the result you expected by using PPM instead of PNG for the
files (PPM doesn't store offsets).

to7m
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-09-13T17:29:07-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Possible bug related to the ‘geometry’ property

Post by to7m » 2017-09-13T18:00:04-07:00

Perfect, thank you!

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 22087
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Possible bug related to the ‘geometry’ property

Post by fmw42 » 2017-09-13T18:02:21-07:00

extract creates a virtual canvas that is saved in the png. You need to remove that using +repage before saving to png.

Try

Code: Select all

convert -extract 12x4+3+0 1.png +repage 2.png
identify 2.png
2.png PNG 12x4 12x4+0+0 8-bit sRGB 2c 259B 0.000u 0:00.009
convert 2.png -resize 3 3.png
identify 3.png
3.png PNG 3x1 3x1+0+0 8-bit sRGB 2c 258B 0.000u 0:00.009
convert -extract 2x1+0+0 3.png +repage 4.png
identify 4.png
4.png PNG 2x1 2x1+0+0 8-bit sRGB 2c 258B 0.000u 0:00.000

to7m
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-09-13T17:29:07-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Possible bug related to the ‘geometry’ property

Post by to7m » 2017-09-13T18:45:01-07:00

Thanks :)

I should also mention this seems to happen with .mpc too.

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 22087
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Possible bug related to the ‘geometry’ property

Post by fmw42 » 2017-09-13T18:59:09-07:00

Several image formats; notably PNG, TIFF, MIFF, MPC all save the virtual canvas data. JPG and GIF do not. So you need to be careful which format to which you save or just use +repage to be sure to get rid of it when you do not want to keep it.

to7m
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-09-13T17:29:07-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Possible bug related to the ‘geometry’ property

Post by to7m » 2017-09-14T04:12:16-07:00

Thank you, noted :) Could you link me to something that explains the virtual canvas data please?

snibgo
Posts: 9383
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Possible bug related to the ‘geometry’ property

Post by snibgo » 2017-09-14T07:05:41-07:00

snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

Post Reply