Page 1 of 1

resize error

Posted: 2017-12-11T07:51:57-07:00
by abieler
ImageMagick 7.0.7-14 Q32 x86_64 2017-12-06
Manjaro Linux 64bit

The result of the following command is wrong.

Code: Select all

 convert example.pdf -resize 50% out.jpeg
out.jpeg is not a smaller version of example.pdf but something
different (depending on what other options are used within the command.
sometimes all black, sometimes it seems to overlay different parts of the
original image and repeat that..)
I tried different commands with more options enabled. They all work
as expected when -resize is removed (everything else left unchanged).

Best

abieler

Re: resize error

Posted: 2017-12-11T09:14:34-07:00
by Bonzo
Convert is using a legacy V6 version of Imagemagick; to use version 7 use magick instead.

Your post is a bit confusing; does the simple resize work without: "depending on what other options are used within the command." or not?

What commands are you using that fail?

Re: resize error

Posted: 2017-12-11T10:57:38-07:00
by fmw42
If you are still having an issue, please post your PDF file to some free hosting service that will preserve the PDF and put the URL here. Also post the exact commands that cause the issue.

Re: resize error

Posted: 2017-12-14T06:18:20-07:00
by abieler
Sorry for not being clear.

Any command without "-resize" works. (I only tested so many...)
Any command involving "-resize" fails.

This is not restircted to pdf, but also png and jpeg.
Below a link containing two original files and the resized versions
that have the suffix "_small"

I converted with

Code: Select all

convert original_image -resize 50% original_image_small
and with

Code: Select all

magick original_image -resize 50% original_image_small
the result is the same for both commands

https://www.dropbox.com/s/vtxcag7b7tzyl ... t.zip?dl=0

Re: resize error

Posted: 2017-12-14T06:25:18-07:00
by abieler

Code: Select all

convert -debug all logo: -resize 50% logo.jpg
works.

Re: resize error

Posted: 2017-12-28T00:17:32-07:00
by abieler
AFAICT the issue has been resolved in version 7.0.7-15 Q16