Issue with stroke and label: text - IM 7.0.7-39 and 6.9.9-50

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
User avatar
GeeMack
Posts: 647
Joined: 2015-12-01T22:09:46-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: Central Illinois, USA

Issue with stroke and label: text - IM 7.0.7-39 and 6.9.9-50

Post by GeeMack » 2018-06-13T09:43:22-07:00

Using ImageMagick 7.0.7-39 Q16 HDRI x64 and ImageMagick 6.9.9-50 Q16 HDRI x64 (and several previous versions of each), and running this command from a Windows 10 command line...

Code: Select all

magick -pointsize 100 -strokewidth 10 -stroke black -font arial label:"TESTING 1 2 3" badstroke1.png
This is the result...

Image

Notice the strokes have a notch at one corner of each character, and there's an odd little twist on the right side center of the "3". This happens using any size stroke width, although it's nearly unnoticeable at very small widths. It happens when creating the text with "label:" or "-annotate". It also looks like the stroke width is being ignored when it's aligning the text within the "label:" canvas.

Here is an example command showing the same issue occurs in slightly different ways by using a different font...

Code: Select all

magick -pointsize 100 -strokewidth 10 -stroke black -font helvetica label:"TESTING 1 2 3" badstroke2.png
This is the result...

Image

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 24013
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Issue with stroke and label: text - IM 7.0.7-39 and 6.9.9-50

Post by fmw42 » 2018-06-13T09:52:52-07:00

Fails also in IM 6.9.9.51 Q16 and IM 7.0.7.39 Q16 HDRI on my Mac OSX Sierra.

User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 10849
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Issue with stroke and label: text - IM 7.0.7-39 and 6.9.9-50

Post by magick » 2018-06-16T08:02:33-07:00

Thanks for the problem report. We can reproduce it and will have a patch to fix it in GIT master branch @ https://github.com/ImageMagick/ImageMagick later today. The patch will be available in the beta releases of ImageMagick @ https://www.imagemagick.org/download/beta/ by sometime tomorrow.

Post Reply