Group4 Compression

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
digcollib
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-09-17T11:23:53-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Group4 Compression

Post by digcollib » 2018-09-17T11:27:32-07:00

Hi, All--

I am trying to compress some TIFF files using Group 4 compression. I am on a Mac, with version info:

Version: ImageMagick 7.0.8-11 Q16 x86_64 2018-09-08 https://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: © 1999-2018 ImageMagick Studio LLC
License: https://www.imagemagick.org/script/license.php
Features: Cipher DPC HDRI Modules
Delegates (built-in): bzlib freetype jng jpeg ltdl lzma png tiff xml zlib

I am using the command

Magick convert file.tif -compress group4 filea.tif

But the files are still showing uncompressed.

When I use the exact same command with 'lzw' instead of group4, it is successful. Any tips?

User avatar
dlemstra
Posts: 1490
Joined: 2013-05-04T15:28:54-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Contact:

Re: Group4 Compression

Post by dlemstra » 2018-09-17T11:41:05-07:00

This is a duplicate of viewtopic.php?f=1&t=34680
.NET + ImageMagick = Magick.NET https://github.com/dlemstra/Magick.NET, @MagickNET, Donate

digcollib
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-09-17T11:23:53-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Re: Group4 Compression

Post by digcollib » 2018-09-17T12:32:59-07:00

Hi, I'm glad to know this is a duplicate, but I noticed there is no fix yet. Is there any estimate as to when this will be fixed?

User avatar
dlemstra
Posts: 1490
Joined: 2013-05-04T15:28:54-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Contact:

Re: Group4 Compression

Post by dlemstra » 2018-09-17T13:26:02-07:00

There is a fix (https://github.com/ImageMagick/ImageMagick/issues/1297) and this will be available in the next release.
.NET + ImageMagick = Magick.NET https://github.com/dlemstra/Magick.NET, @MagickNET, Donate

Post Reply