Different behavior on "convert" command from PDF to JPEG

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
GuillaumeV
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-12-17T06:34:13-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Different behavior on "convert" command from PDF to JPEG

Post by GuillaumeV » 2018-12-17T07:05:00-07:00

Hello,
I have a problem when I try to convert the first page of a PDF file to JPEG format (My PDF has only one page).
The problem is Debian Stetch (9.6) but works perfectly on Debian Jessie (8.11)
On Debian 9.6: ImageMagik v6.9.7.4 and ghostscript v9.26
On Debian 8.11: ImageMagik 6.8.9.9 and ghostscript v9.06

My commande is:

Code: Select all

convert -background white -flatten -verbose my_document.pdf[0] first_page_image.jpg
I get the following error (debian 9.6):

Code: Select all

'gs' -sstdout=%stderr -dQUIET -dSAFER -dBATCH -dNOPAUSE -dNOPROMPT -dMaxBitmap=500000000 -dAlignToPixels=0 -dGridFitTT=2 '-sDEVICE=pngalpha' -dTextAlphaBits=4 -dGraphicsAlphaBits=4 '-r72x72' -dFirstPage=1 -dLastPage=1 '-sOutputFile=/tmp/magick-24544bcD8YtyhXQl6%d' '-f/tmp/magick-24544nUmUzh3QTriM' '-f/tmp/magick-24544gES4ltaz3bfs'

convert-im6.q16: FailedToExecuteCommand `'gs' -sstdout=%stderr -dQUIET -dSAFER -dBATCH -dNOPAUSE -dNOPROMPT -dMaxBitmap=500000000 -dAlignToPixels=0 -dGridFitTT=2 '-sDEVICE=pngalpha' -dTextAlphaBits=4 -dGraphicsAlphaBits=4 '-r72x72' -dFirstPage=1 -dLastPage=1 '-sOutputFile=/tmp/magick-24544bcD8YtyhXQl6%d' '-f/tmp/magick-24544nUmUzh3QTriM' '-f/tmp/magick-24544gES4ltaz3bfs'' (-1) 
@ error/delegate.c/ExternalDelegateCommand/462.

If I remove the brackets ( [0] ), it works ! I don't have any issue in previous version (On jessie)
It works with simple PDF file (without large image), I don't understand where there's a problem...

Command without brackets :

Code: Select all

convert -background white -flatten -verbose my_document.pdf first_page_image.jpg
Results:

Code: Select all

'gs' -sstdout=%stderr -dQUIET -dSAFER -dBATCH -dNOPAUSE -dNOPROMPT -dMaxBitmap=500000000 -dAlignToPixels=0 -dGridFitTT=2 '-sDEVICE=pngalpha' -dTextAlphaBits=4 -dGraphicsAlphaBits=4 '-r72x72'  '-sOutputFile=/tmp/magick-246685XMcGXEIFltr%d' '-f/tmp/magick-24668DrKi6QQcaRoP' '-f/tmp/magick-24668mhqyYAQB3ukd'
/tmp/magick-246685XMcGXEIFltr1 PNG 595x842 595x842+0+0 8-bit sRGB 192KB 0.010u 0:00.010
my_document.pdf PDF 595x842 595x842+0+0 16-bit sRGB 192KB 0.000u 0:00.000
my_document.pdf=>first_page_image.jpg PDF 595x842 595x842+0+0 16-bit sRGB 81.7KB 0.040u 0:00.019
> It works fine.. Any idea ? I don't find any issue talking about this...
Thanks a lot !

snibgo
Posts: 11916
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Different behavior on "convert" command from PDF to JPEG

Post by snibgo » 2018-12-17T07:09:39-07:00

See the recent bug report viewtopic.php?f=3&t=35121
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

GuillaumeV
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-12-17T06:34:13-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Re: Different behavior on "convert" command from PDF to JPEG

Post by GuillaumeV » 2018-12-17T07:22:24-07:00

snibgo wrote:
2018-12-17T07:09:39-07:00
See the recent bug report viewtopic.php?f=3&t=35121
Thanks, I'll read this, but after many attempts to isolate the problem, I finally found that it was because I had a gradient color strip/banner on top document...
It works when the color is united..

Post Reply