file size of a resized image

Use this forum for comments, suggestions or problems related to the ImageMagick Studio web interface @ http://www.imagemagick.org/MagickStudio. If you are a MSN TV user, post here.
Post Reply
webshaker
Posts: 16
Joined: 2007-07-25T15:42:25-07:00

file size of a resized image

Post by webshaker » 2007-11-12T14:40:23-07:00

Hi I try to resize a big jpeg image to make a thumb....

the original picture is this one
http://scrapblog.chez-les-filles.com/rp ... =54.a5e682

the thumb is there
http://scrapblog.chez-les-filles.com/rp ... =54.a5e682

the command I use is the next one
convert -quality 85 -delay 250 thumb.jpg -resize 128x128 original.jpg

the question is:
Why does my thumb filesize is 30ko !!!!
It seem to be a litlle big no ?

thank's
Etienne

User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 10690
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: file size of a resized image

Post by magick » 2007-11-12T14:41:54-07:00

Add -strip to your command line to remove any image profiles and reduce the thumbnail size.

Tomass
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-08-30T07:03:23-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: file size of a resized image

Post by Tomass » 2011-08-30T07:07:34-07:00

Hello!! anyone knows how to resize images based on file size ??
Last edited by Tomass on 2012-06-15T03:03:40-07:00, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 10690
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: file size of a resized image

Post by magick » 2011-08-30T07:53:28-07:00

We support resize on image size only for JPEG with -define jpeg:extent=value, for example -define jpeg:extent=400kb.

User avatar
BDiana
Posts: 37
Joined: 2003-06-01T11:35:16-07:00
Location: Cosmos

Re: file size of a resized image

Post by BDiana » 2011-09-08T11:03:35-07:00

Hi Tomas

I would assume the factors of reduzing the file size of any image have a whole
array of choices, such as resolution, compression, color, frames elimination,
layers, proper output, quality, size etc.etc.

However, I wonder why you asked a command line question in the IM studio
forum? Perhaps the proper place to asked this might give you more user
exposure and might lead to your problem's solution faster.

This site of the forum was designed for the online Internet version of ImageMagick.
No command line involved.

Thanks for your understanding.

Post Reply