DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Use this forum for comments, suggestions or problems related to the online ImageMagick Studio web interface @ https://imagemagick.org/MagickStudio.
scarlet

DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by scarlet »

HI ALL:

THIS IS THE FIRST TIME IN YEARS I HAVE USED "MOTION BLUR"

I TRIED BLURRING AN ANNOTATION.

WHEN I USED A TRANSPARENT GIF, AFTER THE "MOTION BLUR" STEP, USING PARAMETER 150X150+130
I GOT THIS RESULT:
http://www.piratevoyager.com/TEST-PINK/ ... T2pink.gif
(NO BLUR)

USING A BLACK JPG AND USING SAME PARMS, THEN GOING ON TO LAST STEP, RE-ANNOTATING NAME OVER BLUR, I GOT THIS RESULT
http://www.piratevoyager.com/TEST-PINK/ ... OODONE.jpg

IS "MOTION BLUR" NO LONGER ACCEPTING TRANSPARENT GIFS?

SCARLET

snibgo
Posts: 12920
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by snibgo »

Can you post the exact commands you used? Then we can try to reproduce the problem. What version of IM do you use?
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

scarlet

Re: DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by scarlet »

I USED IMAGE MAGICK 6.5.9 @ ARBORHOSTING.COM

1) ANNOTATED NAME "PRINCESS PINK" ON A 500X500 TRANSPARENT GIF

2) EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR 140X140+170

3)RE-ANNOTATED USING SAME PARMS

4)OUTPUTTED AS GIF
CAME OUT ONLY AS NAME, NO "STREAKING"
AND COLOR CHANGED
http://www.piratevoyager.com/TEST-PINK/ ... T2pink.gif

+++++DID IT OVER USING BLACK JPG++++++

I USED IMAGE MAGICK 6.5.9 @ ARBORHOSTING.COM

1) ANNOTATED NAME "PRINCESS PINK" ON A 500X500 BLACK JPG
FILLCOLOR=PINK STROKE=HOTPINK STROKE WIDTH=2
FONT SIZE=50 FONT TYPE= COLTON GOTHIC
http://www.piratevoyager.com/TEST-PINK/ ... OODONE.jpg

2) EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR 140X140+170

3)RE-ANNOTATED USING SAME PARMS
ANNOTATED NAME "PRINCESS PINK" ON A 500X500 BLACK JPG
FILLCOLOR=PINK STROKE=HOTPINK STROKE WIDTH=2
FONT SIZE=50 FONT TYPE= COLTON GOTHIC
http://www.piratevoyager.com/TEST-PINK/ ... OODONE.jpg

4)OUTPUTTED AS JPG
CAME OUT FINE

MY QUESTION IS WHY DID IT NOT WORK USING TRANSPARENT GIF?

IS THAT ENOUGH INFORMATION?
AGAIN, THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP
SCARLET

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 26280
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by fmw42 »

I don't use Magick Studio, so this is just a guess, but try using png. gif only supports binary transparency. png supports 8-bit transparency.

scarlet

Re: DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by scarlet »

FRED:

DO YOU MEAN ON TRANSPARENT GIF,
NAME IT PNG.GIF ON OUTPUT?
IS THERE SUCH AN OPTION?

OR START WITH A PNG.GIF?

IF START WITH ONE, WHERE DO I GET ONE?

SCARLET

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 26280
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by fmw42 »

use imagename.png rather than imagename.gif

create a transparent png if you can the same way you got your initial transparent gif

I am not sure this will make a difference as I don't really understand Magick Studio, but thought it might be worth a try.

scarlet

Re: DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by scarlet »

HIYA FRED:

DO NOT THINK I CAN MAKE A PNG ON WEBTV.

WHEN WE MAKE A BACKGROUND, WE MAKE IT BEFORE GOING INTO STUDIO USING DROPDOWN BOXES BELOW
WITH CHOICE OF "XC" AND WRITE THE WORD
"TRANSPARENT" IF WANT A TRANSPARENT ONE.

HAVE NEVER HEARD OF WRITING "PNG" BEFORE???

WILL LET YOU KNOW
SORRY I DID NOT GET RIGHT BACK TO YOU
THIS WEEK= DR WEEK ;-(((
HAVE BEEN GETTING READY TO GO OUT.

SCARLET

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 26280
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by fmw42 »

Do you have a choice of output image format such as jpg, gif or png? That was what is important. Internally, IM can handle transparency fine. It is just what happens when you save the output that is important.

scarlet

Re: DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by scarlet »

FRED:

WHEN I BROUGHT IN A TRANSPARENT GIF TO USE MOTION BLUR I ALWAYS OUTPUTTED AS A GIF
IT IS BEFORE I OUTPUT THAT THE "BLUR" DOES NOT SEEM TO BE WORKING FOR ME WITH TRANSPARENCY

WORKS GREAT WITH JPGS BUT NOT TRANSPARENT GIFS
????

BTW,,,,,, I CHECKED
I CAN OUTPUT AS A "PNG" BUT I NEVER MADE ONE BEFORE

WE WERE TALKING ABOUT THAT EARLIER

HOW DO I INPUT A PNG AND/OR MAKE ONE INSIDE OF IMAGE MAGICK OR DOES IT AUTOMATICALLY CONVERT TO A PNG
IE. A BLACK BACKGROUND
WHEN I STIPULATE "PNG" ON OUTPUT?

THEN I TAKE IT BACK IN AND USE IT AS A PNG?
IS THAT HOW I MAKE ONE?

SCARLET

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 26280
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by fmw42 »

is this what you want

command line format is

convert -size 200x200 xc:none -channel rgba -fill blue -pointsize 36 \
-font Helvetica -gravity center -annotate 0 "TESTING" -motion-blur 0x10-135 \
testing_motion_blur.png

Image

NOTE: it does not work with gif as gif only supports binary transparency. you need to use png for output. Also -channel rgba needs to be enabled or it does not work.

I am not sure how to do this with Magick Studio, but I will take a look.

You can also get a shadow like effect, by simply drawing some text in black and then redrawing it offset a few pixels in your top color. You can even blur the black text some if you want.


OK. I have tried using 2 different ImageMagick Studios and neither work to do the motion blur even when I input a transparent png for the background. I suppose you should post this to the Bugs forum.

scarlet

Re: DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by scarlet »

FRED:

WHEN "MOTION BLUR" FIRST CAME OUT , WITH INPUT FROM OTHERS TOO, WE WORKED OUT HOW TO USE IT AND AS YOU CAN SEE FROM OUR TUTORIALS
http://www.wtv-zone.com/scarlet09/NEWEF ... _BLUR.html
http://www.wtv-zone.com/scarlet09/NEWEF ... WTODO.html

IT WAS ALWAYS USED WITH TRANSPARENCY.

ONE CAN USE IT ON A BLACK BACKGROUND BUT IT USED TO BE MUCH EASIER, NOT ALOT OF CROPPING AND UNEVEN-NESS, USING TRANSPARENCY

SO OBVIOUSLY SOMETHING HAS CHANGED.

YES, SIR, I WILL TAKE IT OVER TO BUGS.

AS ALWAYS, THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP

SCARLET

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 26280
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by fmw42 »

Scarlet,

I am certainly no expert on using Magick Studio. But I tried numerous variations but could not reproduce what I did from the command line example I showed. Perhaps I am missing something or perhaps there really is a bug.

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 26280
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by fmw42 »

see viewtopic.php?f=3&t=15680

and make sure to use the Magick Studio at http://www.imagemagick.org/MagickStudio ... Studio.cgi as I found many other mirrors or copies at other locations did not work correctly.

User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11218
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by magick »


scarlet

Re: DIFFICULTY USING "EFFECTS/MOTION BLUR"

Post by scarlet »

ANTHONY-

I HAVE NOT HAD A CHANCE TO TRY IT OUT BUT IF YOU UPDATED THE SCRIPT THEN I AM SURE IT WORKS

QUESTION IS,,,,, HOW DID IT GET "DOWNGRADED"???

AT SOME POINT, IT NO LONGER WORKED LIKE IT DID
WHEN IT FIRST CAME OUT
AM JUST WONDERING WHAT IS THE REASONING BEHIND
CHANGING "EFFECTS"???

WHEN WE FINALLY FIGURE OUT HOW THEY WORK AND WRITE UP TUTORIALS FOR EVERYONE TO USE
(WHICH PEOPLE DON'T SEEM TO WANT TO DO ANYMORE NOWADAYS)
AND THEN IMAGE MAGICK CHANGES HOW THE "EFFECT" WORKS
THAT MAKES THE TUTORIAL COMPLETELY
MISLEADING AND, BASICLY, A WASTE OF TIME AND THEN IRRELEVANT.

IE. I PUT IT UP IN MY GROUP, THEY TRY IT, IT DOES NOT WORK ACCORDING TO CLEARLY LAID OUT STEPS
AND THEN THEY GO ONTO SOMETHING ELSE
THAT "EFFECT" AND TUTORIAL BOTH GET DISREGARDED

IT IS A HUGE IMPACT WHEN THAT HAPPENS AND I AM JUST WONDERING WHY THAT DOES HAPPEN?

SCARLET

Post Reply