How can I resize without stripping EXIF?

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
Amin Sabet
Posts: 4
Joined: 2016-11-11T04:56:18-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

How can I resize without stripping EXIF?

Post by Amin Sabet »

My forum software is XenForo. It is set up to resize images over 1600px max dimension down to that side using ImageMagick, and somehow EXIF data is being stripped. I understand that ImageMagick by default does not strip EXIF.

One of my forum moderators proposed the code change here: https://xenforo.com/community/threads/p ... ck.122240/

However, after making that change, we are continuing to see EXIF being stripped from the images.

The full content of that modified code is here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B93HF6 ... sp=sharing

Would be grateful for any help in getting this to work. Our forum users are photographers who would like to see EXIF information preserved under all circumstances.

Thanks,
Amin
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: How can I resize without stripping EXIF?

Post by Bonzo »

Your code is using Imagick not Imagemagick directly and it is correct that in Imagemagick -resize should preserve the EXIF data whereas -thumbnail will remove it.

I can see one part of your code in pecl.php is using thumbnailimage which is probably the problem.
Post Reply