How to arch a text using ImageMagick

A plethora of command-line scripts that perform geometric transforms, blurs, sharpens, edging, noise removal, and color manipulations.
Post Reply
chanchelkumar

How to arch a text using ImageMagick

Post by chanchelkumar » 2009-06-03T03:17:02-07:00

Hi all,
Am a newbie to ImageMagick ..and am working with php ..
i want to make arched texts ...a nd search get me here in ImageMagick

now i get one code which is working pretty good in strainght line.. i tried my level best to arch the text .. can any one here help me to arch the text...
this is the code am using..

Code: Select all

exec("./texteffect.sh -t \"$text\" -s outline -a 100  -e arc-bottom  -f \"$font\" -p 55 -c '#00ff00' -w 500 -o '#000000' -l 1 -u white text.jpg 150>&25");
please give me help ..
thanks in advance..

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25376
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: How to arch a text using ImageMagick

Post by fmw42 » 2009-06-03T10:13:22-07:00

There are two different effects: arc and arch. Arc using -a, Arch uses -w. Be careful not to mix them up.

see http://www.fmwconcepts.com/imagemagick/ ... /index.php

Double check your code to be sure you don't have any "funny" hyphens or other typos. I think you have some kind of "gremlin" in your text or unprintable character. I think it is between your 100 and -e. Retype that space. When I do that your command (less the -w) works fine.


Also there have been some recent improvements to the script, so be sure you have the latest.

This works for me:

texteffect -t "SOME ARCBOTTOM TEXT" -s outline -e arc-bottom -a 100 -f Arial -p 55 -c '#00ff00' -b white -o '#000000' -l 1 -u white somearctext.jpg

Image

chanchelkumar

Re: How to arch a text using ImageMagick

Post by chanchelkumar » 2009-06-03T22:32:39-07:00

Thanks fmw42!!!

You did a very good help for me... i found that examples are very helpful...
One problem.. i can do all examples which results in a straight line.. 3

But i can't arc it.. i done it with the same code given by you.. but i can't arch it..
is there any problem in my installation.. .
please help me..

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25376
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: How to arch a text using ImageMagick

Post by fmw42 » 2009-06-04T09:33:57-07:00

what version of IM are you using? also please repeat the code you are trying to use? did you fix the bad space character that I mentioned?

chanchelkumar

Re: How to arch a text using ImageMagick

Post by chanchelkumar » 2009-06-04T22:58:09-07:00

Hi fmw42..

My server is with imagick 6.2.8, and My code is

Code: Select all

exec("./texteffect.sh -t \"SOME ARCBOTTOM TEXT\" -s outline -e arc-bottom -a 100 -f Arial -p 55 -c '#00ff00' -o '#000000' -l 1 -u white text.jpg");
here transparent is not working..

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25376
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: How to arch a text using ImageMagick

Post by fmw42 » 2009-06-05T09:04:43-07:00

-distort arc used by the script was not introduced until IM 6.3.5-5

Your version of IM is way too old (about 250 versions old).

Also you have not specified any transparent color.

chanchelkumar

Re: How to arch a text using ImageMagick

Post by chanchelkumar » 2009-06-05T22:25:20-07:00

Thanks fmw42..


Hope the answer will help me.. i asked my server guys to update ImageMagick..
And on transperant.. i tried both below codes..

with -b as none...

Code: Select all

exec("./texteffect.sh -t \"$value\" -s outline -e arc-bottom -a 100 -f arial.ttf -p 55 -c '#00ff00' -b none -o '#000000' -l 1  -u none text.jpg 2>&1");
and with out -b

Code: Select all

exec("./texteffect.sh -t \"$value\" -s outline -e arc-bottom -a 100 -f Arial -p 55 -c '#00ff00' -o '#000000' -l 1 -u white text.jpg");

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25376
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: How to arch a text using ImageMagick

Post by fmw42 » 2009-06-06T09:30:01-07:00

In your second statement you have not specified any background -b.

Finally, JPG output does NOT support transparency. You must use PNG or GIF or some format that does support transparency.

Try

texteffect -t "somearctransparent" -s outline -e arc-bottom -a 100 -f Arial -p 55 -c '#00ff00' -o '#000000' -l 1 -u none -b none somearctransparent.png
Last edited by fmw42 on 2012-04-24T21:38:23-07:00, edited 1 time in total.

Feniksss
Posts: 6
Joined: 2012-04-09T06:36:35-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: How to arch a text using ImageMagick

Post by Feniksss » 2012-04-16T06:56:40-07:00

How do it on MagickWand???

This is don't work http://www.imagemagick.org/api/magick-i ... stortImage because is undefined function: http://www.magickwand.org/

User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8883
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: How to arch a text using ImageMagick

Post by anthony » 2012-04-16T22:54:00-07:00

That page was last generated in 2009, three years ago! I am not suprised it doesn't list it!

Many PHP uses use command line calls instead.

IMv7 will have command line co-processing (using popen()) but it is still in development.
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/

Post Reply