Windows IM HDRI activation

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
markmarques
Posts: 88
Joined: 2010-06-29T14:36:09-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by markmarques »

Hi ...
A simple short question :
How do I activate HDRI option in the windows binaries ? Besides compiling it from source ?
Is there any possibility of "activating it" with the common pre-compiled builds ?

Thanks in advance
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by fmw42 »

I am not a windows expert, but I am pretty sure the only way is to compile from source as IM does not typically provide binaries in HDRI mode.

IM is generally compiled to 8-bits, 16-bits or 32-bits or one of those with HDRI enabled. Tyically the binaries are 16-bit compiled.
markmarques
Posts: 88
Joined: 2010-06-29T14:36:09-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by markmarques »

Short question :
How do I activate the HDRI option
prior to compile the source in WINDOWS ?
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by magick »

You can only enable HDRI under Windows by defining MAGICKCORE_HDRI_SUPPORT and compiling the source.
markmarques
Posts: 88
Joined: 2010-06-29T14:36:09-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by markmarques »

Would it be possible to have a "generic" HDRI (32Q) pre-compiled Win32 imagemagick build ?
Or am I missing something ?
besides activating such specific a variable in the headers ?


P.S. :
I will try to build my own version as soon as I get VS installed :) ...
markmarques
Posts: 88
Joined: 2010-06-29T14:36:09-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by markmarques »

After some fiddling with VS 2005 I got the imagemagick source package fully compiled but ...
Following the intructions I am not able to activate the HDRI mode ...
If I try "identify -version " I only get this :
Version: ImageMagick 6.6.4-5 2010-09-21 Q32 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2010 ImageMagick Studio LLC
Features: OpenMP

No indication of HDRI whatsoever ...

Nonetheless I have found in the configure.h the MAgickCore_HDRI_SUPPORT var ...
And uncommented it ...
What am I doing wrong ?
markmarques
Posts: 88
Joined: 2010-06-29T14:36:09-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by markmarques »

After some fiddling with VS 2005 I got the imagemagick source package fully compiled but ...
Following the intructions I am not able to activate the HDRI mode ...
If I try "identify -version " I only get this :
Version: ImageMagick 6.6.4-5 2010-09-21 Q32 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2010 ImageMagick Studio LLC
Features: OpenMP

No indication of HDRI whatsoever ...

Nonetheless I have found in the configure.h the MAgickCore_HDRI_SUPPORT var ...
And uncommented it ...
What am I doing wrong ?
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by fmw42 »

I am not a Windows user, but hopefully the following notes make by user el_supremo may help. see viewtopic.php?f=4&t=14251#p56836
markmarques
Posts: 88
Joined: 2010-06-29T14:36:09-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by markmarques »

Despite the fact that I still can not have the "HDRI" option active in the -version output ...
I compiled the libs and programs with 64 as Max value ...
How that differs from the "full HDRI" option ?

How can test if the 64 Max alue is really used ?

Is there any "simple test" ?
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by magick »

To compile HDRI set these defines in magick/magick-config.h:
  • #define MAGICKCORE_QUANTUM_DEPTH 16
    #define MAGICKCORE_HDRI_SUPPORT 1
markmarques
Posts: 88
Joined: 2010-06-29T14:36:09-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by markmarques »

As indicated in the previous post I did check and recheck both flags
#define MAGICKCORE_QUANTUM_DEPTH
#define MAGICKCORE_HDRI_SUPPORT
I even remade all the steps (downloading the most recent sources and editing the file ... )
But still have not the HDRI option defined if I call "Identify -version" directly in the compiled bin directory I get :

D:\ImageMagick-6.6.4\VisualMagick\bin>identify -version
Version: ImageMagick 6.6.4-9 2010-09-29 Q32 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2010 ImageMagick Studio LLC
Features: OpenMP

No HDRI info whatsoever ...

what can I be doing wrong ?
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by magick »

You have HDRI support, we'll need to improve the reporting of HDRI support under Windows. It currently works fine under Linux.
markmarques
Posts: 88
Joined: 2010-06-29T14:36:09-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by markmarques »

Being said that I am with a HDRI supported compiled binary ...

How can I test if it is working properly ?

is there any simple test to check it ?
conrad
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-02-14T19:21:28-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by conrad »

My first post on the forum..

Hello anyone,

I'd love to get my hands on a Q32 or HDRI build for windows. I really need the ability to read and write 32bit float formats

I've written a GUI for batch downsampling of hi-res/HDR video sequences (I'm not using IM algorithms for that, just the format conversion).

I'm outputting to TIF/ DPX /EXR and Jpeg2000 (which also improves with floating point if your converting RGB to XYZ space)

I'm not using DLLs nor C language, just executing IM in a shell. A prebuilt portable windows binary would be ideal.

Any chance of these ever getting one posted by the team?

My software won't see the light of day , and wont be very useful for its intended users until I can start Q32ing..

I believe there are more HDR users than you realise waiting to benefit from you excellent work ;)

best regards
conrad

ps, IM Team. If you ever need very simple to read pseudo code functions for plotting "uniform rational b-splines" , I can provide it.
User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8883
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Windows IM HDRI activation

Post by anthony »

markmarques wrote:Being said that I am with a HDRI supported compiled binary ...

How can I test if it is working properly ?

is there any simple test to check it ?
A quick test on if your IM is HDRI build is your version information

Code: Select all

convert -version
Simple tests of HDRI is to stretch and/or compress a gradient in some way, then reverse it to see if the gradient was 'quantized' or 'clipped'. If it wasn't you are using HDRI.

See IM Examples, Basics, Quantum Effects, HDRI vs non-HDRI
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/basics ... um_effects

You can have multiple installed versions of IM, using little scripts to switch between them.
If you like to have BOTH types installed look at my notes on generating a 'personal install'
Creating a Personal ImageMagick
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/api/#personal
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
Post Reply