Limit memory option?

The MagickWand interface is a new high-level C API interface to ImageMagick core methods. We discourage the use of the core methods and encourage the use of this API instead. Post MagickWand questions, bug reports, and suggestions to this forum.
Post Reply
3DTOPO
Posts: 28
Joined: 2010-07-05T16:13:53-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Limit memory option?

Post by 3DTOPO »

Greetings,

I am just getting up to speed with ImageMagick and I am loving it!

Is there a limit memory option for the MagickWand API similar to the limit memory switch for the convert utility?

Code: Select all

convert -define registry:temporary-path=/data/tmp -limit memory 16mb

Thanks!
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Limit memory option?

Post by magick »

3DTOPO
Posts: 28
Joined: 2010-07-05T16:13:53-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Limit memory option?

Post by 3DTOPO »

Thanks for the link.

I am using MAGICK_MEMORY_LIMIT which works great, but I understand it also limits the disk pixel cache.

Is there a way to limit just the RAM and not the swap cache?

Thanks again!
3DTOPO
Posts: 28
Joined: 2010-07-05T16:13:53-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Limit memory option?

Post by 3DTOPO »

Apparently MAGICK_MEMORY_LIMIT seems to control the maximum pixel cache for the heap otherwise it caches to disk.

MAGICK_MAP_LIMIT seems to control the maximum pixel cache otherwise it caches to disk.

If MAP limit is not using memory from the heap, what is it using before it caches it to disk?
Post Reply