Montage.exe in ImageMagick-7.0.8-12-Q16-x64-dll

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
tuggleg
Posts: 16
Joined: 2017-05-01T08:57:40-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Montage.exe in ImageMagick-7.0.8-12-Q16-x64-dll

Post by tuggleg » 2018-10-11T09:02:05-07:00

Hello,
I have updated IM on a user's PC to ImageMagick-7.0.8-12-Q16-x64-dll. We call montage.exe via PowerShell and are now receiving errors:

'PS C:\Users\bennort> \\Path\Script.ps1
E:\image.jpg

Thursday, October 11, 2018 10:32:41 AM
Creating contact sheet
bennort
montage : The term 'montage' is not recognized as the name of a cmdlet, function, script file, or operable program. Check the spelling of the name, or if a path was
included, verify that the path is correct and try again.
At \\Path\Script.ps1:81 char:1
+ montage -verbose -label %t -pointsize 25 -background '#FFFFFF' -tile ...
+ ~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : ObjectNotFound: (montage:String) [], CommandNotFoundException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : CommandNotFoundException'

I have suggested the user targets montage.exe directly such as 'C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-7.0.8-12-Q16-x64-dll\Montage.exe' but we are unable to find the executable file there. Did the executable files move in recent versions? In version ImageMagick-7.0.3-Q16 montage can be found 'C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-7.0.3-Q16\montage.exe'.

Thanks

snibgo
Posts: 10958
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Montage.exe in ImageMagick-7.0.8-12-Q16-x64-dll

Post by snibgo » 2018-10-11T09:29:27-07:00

When you install on Windows, there is a box you can tick if you want the legacy components like montage.exe. I guess you didn't tick it.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

tuggleg
Posts: 16
Joined: 2017-05-01T08:57:40-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Montage.exe in ImageMagick-7.0.8-12-Q16-x64-dll

Post by tuggleg » 2018-10-11T09:35:07-07:00

I didnt realize montage was legacy... thank you very much. We will try that again and report back today.

Take care

tuggleg
Posts: 16
Joined: 2017-05-01T08:57:40-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Montage.exe in ImageMagick-7.0.8-12-Q16-x64-dll

Post by tuggleg » 2018-10-11T10:31:38-07:00

Installing legacy components fixed the issue. Feel free to mark thread as resolved.

Thanks,

Post Reply