How to make "convert" retain size & resolution

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
tongro

How to make "convert" retain size & resolution

Post by tongro »

I'm new to ImageMagick, and using version 6.0.6 on Debian Linux, from the command line.

I'm trying to use convert to convert either TIFF or JPEG files to either PS or PDF, but am having trouble controlling the size of the output image. What I want is to simply retain the size and resolution of the original version; it seems convert always wants to change the output resolution to 72 dpi, which also screws up the size.

I've played around with -resize, -density, and -units, and can get correct results if I know the input size/resolution. However, if I don't know those figures, I'm stuck.

Can anybody please help?

Thanks.

Tony.
anthony
Authentication code: 8675308

Post by anthony »

Instead of -resize use -resample with the resolution you want the image to be converted to.

however Postscript and PDF are vector graphic formats, which do not contain any 'resolution'. The defult by Im is to read them in at 72x72 dpi. However you can change that by setting -density before reading them in.

WARNING: see IM Examples
A word about Vector Image formats
http://www.cit.gu.edu.au/~anthony/graph ... ts/#vector

This is vital if you plan to read from or generate postscript or PDF document formats.

Question, does the PDF you are reading contain a raster image instead of a vector image?
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
tongro

Post by tongro »

Thanks for that.

What I want to do is read TIFF/JPEG (raster) and output PS/PDF.
anthony

Post by anthony »