Page 1 of 1

MagickWand for PHP does not produce any outputs

Posted: 2007-08-06T08:14:39-07:00
by ridera
MagickWand for PHP goes thru the motions; but, doesn't produce any outputs, no echo blobs, write files, or even reporting the width and height.

e.g., Here is a very simple example. The width and height are empty. flower_original.jpg is legit, It works fine with the old PHP imagemagick functions and it is a good jpeg.

Code: Select all

       $resource = NewMagickWand();
       $org_image= getcwd() . '/flower_original.jpg';  //also tried without full path;  

//Simple test to see if generally working
	
	MagickReadImage( $resource, $org_image);

echo 'Error report 1 => ' . MagickGetExceptionString($resource) . "<br><br>\n\n";

	$width = MagickGetImageWidth( $resource );
	$height = MagickGetImageHeight( $resource );

echo 'Error report 2 => ' . MagickGetExceptionString($resource) . "<br><br>\n\n";

	echo "Image size, in pixels, is:  width $width x height $height <br><br>\n\n";
Both exception strings are empty. However, if I force an error, e.g., name the image to a non existing file, I get

Code: Select all

Error report 1 => unable to open image `/home/ridera/public_html/imagemagick/xflower_original.jpg': No such file or directory

Error report 2 => Wand contains no images `MagickWand-2'
PHP5.2.3; MagickWand 1.0.4; ImageMagick 6.3.5 08/04/07 Q16

Re: MagickWand for PHP does not produce any outputs

Posted: 2007-08-06T17:31:25-07:00
by ridera
An update.

These functions work.
MagickDescribeImage($resource)
MagickGetImageResolution($resource)

Re: MagickWand for PHP does not produce any outputs

Posted: 2007-08-15T02:06:56-07:00
by Shrek
I've been suffering the same problem on

MagickWand1.0.4 & ImageMagick 6.3.5 08/14/07 Q16

Re: MagickWand for PHP does not produce any outputs

Posted: 2007-08-23T03:29:14-07:00
by andrabr
any solutions?

- I am having exactly same problem.

My theory so far is that MagickWand is NOT talking to ImageMagick - the only functions we have working are the ones with default outputs...

Re: MagickWand for PHP does not produce any outputs

Posted: 2007-08-23T18:15:33-07:00
by andrabr
Partial Solution: downgrade.

1) Remove ImageMagic 6.3.5 ( make uninstall)

2) Install ImageMagic 6.3.4.10

3) Get confused: MagickWand for PHP will tell you that you are running ImageMagick 6.3.4 but it needs version 6.3.4 or above. Yep, I went nuts too...

A closer look at "configure" showed that it actually specifies 6.3.5 as a requirement (internally). I wish I knew WHICH 6.3.5 !!! - 6.3.5.6 does NOT work.
It has been reported that 6.3.5.2 does not work either.

Help???
Is there a combination of versions known to work?

Re: MagickWand for PHP does not produce any outputs

Posted: 2007-08-25T14:25:21-07:00
by slitz
i'm exactly in same situation...

well, at least now i know why the strange confgure behavior when with imagemagick 6.3.4 installed , that got me really puzzled :?

anyway, i'm using MagickWand 1.0.4 on mac osX 10.4 and imagemagick 6.3.5 Q16...

Re: MagickWand for PHP does not produce any outputs

Posted: 2007-08-27T05:36:28-07:00
by ali
hi, i got it to work... first, i installed the newest Imagemagick release, then compiled php5 with magickwand. the compiling worked fine!
but this configuration isnt fine, the problem is the imagemagick v6.3.5! so i uninstalled imagemagick, and installed then ImageMagick-6.3.4-10, aaand, it works :D

i doesnt tested it enough, but saving images, and echo blobs working!!

so, what have you to do?

  • Install ImageMagick-6.3.5-6
  • Compile php5 with magickwand, it will work with this imagemagick version
  • Uninstall ImageMagick-6.3.5-6 (make uninstall)
  • Install ImageMagick-6.3.4-10
  • Restart Apache (in my case)
thats all! it isnt the best way, but i think its for NOW the only way...