Amazon Linux ImageMagick with AutoTrace

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
augr
Posts: 7
Joined: 2011-05-22T22:48:27-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Amazon Linux ImageMagick with AutoTrace

Post by augr »

I am transitioning my server to Amazon Linux and can't for the life of me figure out how to remove the dependency to an old version of ImageMagick from Autotrace before I make everything for install.

Specifically, I am using AT only for its vector capabilities.

Any advice would be much appreciated!
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Amazon Linux ImageMagick with AutoTrace

Post by snibgo »

Sadly, autotrace seems to be no longer maintained. Perhaps not much work would be needed to make it work with recent IM versions.

A workaround kludge is:

Code: Select all

./configure --without-magick
At the top of input.c, insert:

Code: Select all

#define HAVE_MAGICK 0
Then:

Code: Select all

make
The result is a working version of autotrace.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
augr
Posts: 7
Joined: 2011-05-22T22:48:27-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Amazon Linux ImageMagick with AutoTrace

Post by augr »

Thanks snibgo. I tried your suggestion and I didn't get any errors.

Unfortunately ImageMagic's value for autotrace is still no after I configure.

Code: Select all

make ./configure --with-autotrace=yes 
Perhaps there are other dependencies I need to install or remove?
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Amazon Linux ImageMagick with AutoTrace

Post by fmw42 »

Do you know that autotrace works standalone? If not, check the install (config.log) of autotrace to see if there are any errors?
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Amazon Linux ImageMagick with AutoTrace

Post by snibgo »

You want to use autotrace as an internal delegate to IM? Okay. I've never done that. I don't know if it is possible with the hack I gave above (which builds autotrace without IM).
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
augr
Posts: 7
Joined: 2011-05-22T22:48:27-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Amazon Linux ImageMagick with AutoTrace

Post by augr »

Yes it would be a delegate to IM. I've done it before but completely forgot how I set it up.

Does anyone know which version of IM AT references? I can just use that and be done with it - hopefully.
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Amazon Linux ImageMagick with AutoTrace

Post by snibgo »

Hmm. Using a very old version of IM because AutoTrace (which is very old) requires it will probably cause problems in the future.

Why do you want AutoTrace as an internal delegate? It works fine as an external delegate (ie with an entry in delegates.xml).
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8883
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Amazon Linux ImageMagick with AutoTrace

Post by anthony »

The following was extracted from my personal notes on creating a autotrace package for fedora

Basically I wanted to remove its dependency on imagemagick and pstoedit -- neither of which it really needs.
Other than creating a replacement 'package' for fedora, without those dependancys the notes boiled down to
just adding the configure options --without-magick --without-pstoedit
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
Post Reply