Random noise

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Random noise

Post by Bonzo »

I have just been trying a bit of Anthony's code out on my localhost - windows 10 and 7.0.3 Q16 and I am getting some random noise. I have a 6. something version on my server and it is not creating the noise. A V7 problem?

Image

Code: Select all

magick portrate.png -write mpr:image +delete ^
         01.jpg -write mpr:edge_top +delete ^
         01.jpg -rotate 180 -write mpr:edge_btm +delete ^
         mpr:image -alpha set -bordercolor none ^
         -compose Dst -frame 58x58+58  -compose over ^
         -transverse  -tile mpr:edge_btm ^
         -draw "color 1,0 floodfill" -transpose -draw "color 1,0 floodfill" ^
         -transverse  -tile mpr:edge_top ^
         -draw "color 1,0 floodfill" -transpose -draw "color 1,0 floodfill" ^
         mpr:image -gravity center -composite ^
	result.png
Image
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Random noise

Post by snibgo »

What is the minimum command that makes the noise? And the input image(s) to that command?
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: Random noise

Post by Bonzo »

I have reduced the command already to the above and I am not sure how much more to remove. It is the same with any input image so I did not bother uploading the input; just the frame image.
I can try to reduce the code further tomorrow night.
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Random noise

Post by fmw42 »

It is coming from the -draw "color x,y floodfill" step. But in conjunction with other commands. If I just do the floodfill step, it works fine on any image. Using IM 6 convert no color spots are showing. It could be due to getting some random fill color for the -draw rather than using the default white. I am not yet sure why you are getting the random colors from the -draw. But it does look like a bug to me in IM 7.
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Random noise

Post by fmw42 »

I get the same color spots showing in Anthony's example code at http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/thumbnails/#frame_edge when using IM 7.
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: Random noise

Post by Bonzo »

Thank you for checking this out fmw42 and reporting the bug.
User avatar
dlemstra
Posts: 1570
Joined: 2013-05-04T15:28:54-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Contact:

Re: Random noise

Post by dlemstra »

.NET + ImageMagick = Magick.NET https://github.com/dlemstra/Magick.NET, @MagickNET, Donate
Post Reply