Urgent - please help!

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
line7
Posts: 27
Joined: 2018-11-12T07:54:48-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Re: Urgent - please help!

Post by line7 » 2019-01-16T09:33:54-07:00

maybe soem otehr version will not do this - can you recommend an earlier stable release?

snibgo
Posts: 11447
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Urgent - please help!

Post by snibgo » 2019-01-16T09:43:21-07:00

I suggest you try the command, but with no "-shave 10x10". Do you get the same bad result?
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 24737
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Urgent - please help!

Post by fmw42 » 2019-01-16T11:40:59-07:00

I shaved your file with -shave 5x5 using IM 6.9.10.23 Q16 Mac OSX Sierra. I see no change when using a color picker (HueGo) nor in my GraphicConverter tool. Both show a background of 13,13,13.

Your image has an alpha channel. If you do

Code: Select all

convert image.png -shave 5x5 image_shaved1.png
it will remove the alpha channel.

If you want to keep the alpha channel when shaving, do

Code: Select all

convert image.png -channel rgba -shave 5x5 image_shaved2.png
Both give me 13,13,13

Perhaps your color picker is modifying values depending upon whether you have an alpha channel or if you have removed the alpha channel.

What color picker are you using or what image tool are you using to read the color values? What is your IM version and platform?

line7
Posts: 27
Joined: 2018-11-12T07:54:48-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Re: Urgent - please help!

Post by line7 » 2019-01-17T00:40:32-07:00

thnak you for this fantastic reply!
I am using imagemagick version 7.08-14 Q16 64 bit

yes when you try to check the bakcground on computer - the images have the same background - but when I upload the processed image on a webiste (which has teh 13 13 13 background) - it becomes apparent that the image has the different background and when i check with a colorpicker CP1 it shows 5 5 5. actually my eye detects the difference in color very well)) :lol:

I will now try your code to see if the images migth show correctly with the alpha channel present
thanks a lot!

line7
Posts: 27
Joined: 2018-11-12T07:54:48-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Re: Urgent - please help!

Post by line7 » 2019-01-17T00:50:31-07:00

I tried this line and still the images start to have different background when uplaoded on the website with the background of 13 13 13

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-7.0.8-Q16\mogrify.exe" -channel rgba -shave 10x10 *.png

line7
Posts: 27
Joined: 2018-11-12T07:54:48-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Re: Urgent - please help!

Post by line7 » 2019-01-17T06:31:42-07:00

the key is how the images look online - maybe you can try uplaoding the processed image to the tinyurl so that I can check its background here?

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 24737
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Urgent - please help!

Post by fmw42 » 2019-01-17T15:25:52-07:00

If you upload, some hosting services reformat your image to JPG. This may cause changes in color since it a lossy compression.

line7
Posts: 27
Joined: 2018-11-12T07:54:48-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Re: Urgent - please help!

Post by line7 » 2019-01-18T01:52:16-07:00

thnak you for yuour reply - the images are png on the host - for example - here you can see the above two images - they are png - and on my server - which is godaddy theu are both PNG - they just do not have the same background - after processign it is changed..

so the only solution is to have the background as black (websafe color)?

snibgo
Posts: 11447
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Urgent - please help!

Post by snibgo » 2019-01-18T07:54:14-07:00

I will ask once more, then I'll give up.

Please try the command without "-shave". The command would be:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-7.0.8-Q16\mogrify.exe" *.png 
Do you get the same bad result?
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 24737
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Urgent - please help!

Post by fmw42 » 2019-01-18T10:22:48-07:00

line7 wrote:
2019-01-18T01:52:16-07:00
thnak you for yuour reply - the images are png on the host - for example - here you can see the above two images - they are png - and on my server - which is godaddy theu are both PNG - they just do not have the same background - after processign it is changed..

so the only solution is to have the background as black (websafe color)?
You show no images!

Post Reply