Add border to large image

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
mail2vguna
Posts: 20
Joined: 2015-06-04T07:52:46-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Add border to large image

Post by mail2vguna »

Hi

I am using IM version ImageMagick-6.8.5-3 on windows.

i am trying to add border like 4000 pixels to left, right , top and bottom of the 1920 dpi image. i am getting error while using below code

convert.exe -border 4000x4000 1920dpi.tif border.tif
convert.exe: Incompatible type for "RichTIFFIPTC"; tag ignored. `TIFFFetchNormalTag' @ warning/tiff.c/TIFFWarnings/824.
convert.exe: unable to extend cache `1920dpi.tif': No space left on device @ error/cache.c/OpenPixelCache/3753.

1920dpi.tif - 711MB width - 51840 , height - 11520 - DPI 1920

Do the needful. Many thanks
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Add border to large image

Post by snibgo »

mail2vguna wrote:No space left on device
Get a larger device. This would be the disk drive. At 8 bytes per pixel, your image needs 5 GB of memory before adding the border. If you don't have enough memory, IM will use disk, but it seems you don't have enough space on that.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
mail2vguna
Posts: 20
Joined: 2015-06-04T07:52:46-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Add border to large image

Post by mail2vguna »

Hi

Thanks for reply.

Here device means what? can you send the script for that how to allocate the cash memory/device memory.
c: drive 4.5gb free already
d:\ drive 45GB available.

Am i correct.? Help me to fix the issue.
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Add border to large image

Post by snibgo »

On Windows, by default, IM uses %TEMP%.

Code: Select all

f:\web\im>set TEMP
TEMP=C:\Users\Alan\AppData\Local\Temp
On my computer, this is on drive C: . I can tell IM to use D: instead

Code: Select all

C:
D:\>md \temp
D:\>set MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH=D:\temp
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
mail2vguna
Posts: 20
Joined: 2015-06-04T07:52:46-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Add border to large image

Post by mail2vguna »

Thanks.

Will check and update you.

Once again thanks.
mail2vguna
Posts: 20
Joined: 2015-06-04T07:52:46-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Add border to large image

Post by mail2vguna »

Hi

set MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH=d:\temp
convert.exe -border 1000x1000 d:\1920dpi.tif d:\border.tif
TIFFWriteDirectoryTagData: IO error writing tag data.
convert.exe: Incompatible type for "RichTIFFIPTC"; tag ignored. `TIFFFetchNormalTag' @ warning/tiff.c/TIFFWarnings/824.
convert.exe: unable to extend cache `d:\1920dpi.tif': No space left on device @ error/cache.c/OpenPixelCache/3753.
convert.exe: IO error writing tag data. `TIFFWriteDirectoryTagData' @ error/tiff.c/TIFFErrors/562.

45GB available in D:\ drive , still i am getting above error. How many GB free space i need ?

Looking forward your reply.
Post Reply