Newbie needing help with installation

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
kiggd

Newbie needing help with installation

Post by kiggd »

I'm running a linux server and ran all the instructions (/.configure, make, make install) everything works. I even do

convert -version

and get

Code: Select all

Version: ImageMagick 6.3.1 12/30/06 Q16 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2007 ImageMagick Studio LLC

However, when I try to run the following php script:

Code: Select all

<?
  header('Content-Type: text/plain');
  system("exec 2>&1; type convert");
  system("exec 2>&1; convert -version");
  system("exec 2>&1; convert -list type");
?>
I get "commands not found"

So I tried

Code: Select all

<?
  $im_path="/opt/php5extras/ImageMagick/bin"
  header('Content-Type: text/plain');
  system("exec 2>&1; $im_path/convert -version");
  system("exec 2>&1; $im_path/convert -list type");
?>
And I get a blank page...
Someone please help!

Thanks in advance,
-Danny
User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8883
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post by anthony »

Did you set the im_path to the correct place that IM is installed on YOUR system?
That was where it was installed on MY system, not YOUR system.
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
kiggd

Post by kiggd »

Hey,
Yeah I actually figured it out. I found the right path and put it in and it worked!

However, the PHP application I'm trying to use needs GD2 (not imagemagick), I'm having LOADS of issues trying to enable that.

I don't know exactly where I'm supposed to recompile php --with-gd on the shell, I don't exactly have a "php" folder on my linux server.

Thanks,
Danny
User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8883
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post by anthony »

PHP is usally installed as a module into the web application itself, as a dynamic library.

This really requires system installation.
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
kiggd

Post by kiggd »

I don't understand what you meant? Again, I'm very new with server administering.

I do know that my phpinfo (www.k2xl.com/phpinfox.php) says "without-gd" and I don't know where to run this ./configure --with-gd on my server.

-Danny
User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8883
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post by anthony »

You run it as part of the build process for PHP. This is a pain. My last PHP rebuild needed about 30 modules compiled into it by the request of the web developers (under a Solaris system for a SunOne Server, though its almost teh same for Apache).

Under linux things are more modular, and adding the appropriate PHP rpm, will often install the appropriate parts without needing to re-compile PHP. That is because the linux software builders go the extra mile to get things to do this. Even so there are no gurantees.
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
kiggd

Post by kiggd »

Wait, I'm a bit confused. Are you available to chat via IM? You have no idea how much I'd appreciate it.

-Danny
User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8883
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post by anthony »

in this forum IM = ImageMagick
not instant messaging

See the forum artical, in the Magickwand for PHP area...
http://redux.imagemagick.org/discourse- ... php?t=7988
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
Post Reply