Page 2 of PSL chopped off

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
tsdineen
Posts: 81
Joined: 2007-01-18T08:45:31-07:00

Page 2 of PSL chopped off

Post by tsdineen »

I have an psl image when I display it, the second page is chopped off at the top. I can view this fine in ghostscript, but not display. I am using version IM 6.6.3-4, but it appears this has been there for some time. I am also able to view this with the psview on windows. The image can be found here: ftp://ftp.sas.com/outgoing/ImageMagick/ as gbup.psl.

What's going on?

Thanks,
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Page 2 of PSL chopped off

Post by magick »

We ran Ghostscript from the command line and it created the same results. You can override the Postscript translate that is in the file with -page:
  • display -page letter gbyp.psl
tsdineen
Posts: 81
Joined: 2007-01-18T08:45:31-07:00

Re: Page 2 of PSL chopped off

Post by tsdineen »

That sort of works with and -density 89x89, but the second page does shift up and right. I am actually using the C interface and have size set, but it doesn't seem to work.

if (!strcmp (im->image->magick, "PSL") ||
!strcmp (im->image->magick, "PDF") ||
!strcmp (im->image->magick, "PCL") ||
!strcmp (im->image->magick, "BPC") ||
!strcmp (im->image->magick, "HPC") ||
!strcmp (im->image->magick, "PS"))
{
image_info->page = calloc(10, sizeof(char));
(void) strcpy(image_info->page, "letter");

image_info->density = calloc(10, sizeof(char));
(void) strcpy(image_info->density, "89x89");
}
tsdineen
Posts: 81
Joined: 2007-01-18T08:45:31-07:00

Re: Page 2 of PSL chopped off

Post by tsdineen »

I have a reproducable piece of code showing setting the -page isn't working. I can use display -page letter fine, but it doesn't appear to work in c. I am building and running on Linux rhel4. If I use IM 6.3.6, I don't have the problem. I believe I have been able to reproduce this with any version starting with 6.3.8.whatever, when the libraries' names changed to Margiccore and MagicWand.

Here are the files needed to create the problem.

ftp://ftp.sas.com/outgoing/ImageMagick/build_tool
This is the script used to build and test the problem. It has the list of versions of the components I used to reproduce this issue. You will probably have to modifiy this tool to get the correct locations of your ImageMagick deployment.

To build the test:
./build_tool

To run the test:
./build_tool -t

ftp://ftp.sas.com/outgoing/ImageMagick/Makefile
nothing special, but needs the build_tool to work correctly.

ftp://ftp.sas.com/outgoing/ImageMagick/test.c
simple test program. The loadFile function will show you where I am setting the page size.

ftp://ftp.sas.com/outgoing/ImageMagick/gbyp.psl
2 page postscript file showing problem.
tsdineen
Posts: 81
Joined: 2007-01-18T08:45:31-07:00

Re: Page 2 of PSL chopped off

Post by tsdineen »

Any fix on this problem? It has been over two weeks without even a comment.

Thanks,
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Page 2 of PSL chopped off

Post by magick »

curl ftp://ftp.sas.com/outgoing/ImageMagick/test.c
550 /outgoing/ImageMagick/test.c: No such file or directory.
tsdineen
Posts: 81
Joined: 2007-01-18T08:45:31-07:00

Re: Page 2 of PSL chopped off

Post by tsdineen »

The files are out there again.

ftp://ftp.sas.com/outgoing/ImageMagick

Sorry, the system doesn't leave them there very long.
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Page 2 of PSL chopped off

Post by magick »

You'll need ImageMagick 6.6.5-1 Beta available by sometime tomorrow. A patch was required to fix the problem you posted. You'll also need to change the page size from letter to 612x792.
Post Reply