v7 -equalize with -channel

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

v7 -equalize with -channel

Post by snibgo »

In v6, "-equalize" is sensitive to "-channel", so we could equalize channels independently.

In v7, a "-channel" setting does not affect the behaviour of "-equalize". I assume this is a bug.

For example, where %IM% is v6.9.2-5 and %IMG7% is v7.0.1-3:

Code: Select all

set SRC=toes.jpg

%IM%convert ^
  %SRC% ^
  -equalize ^
  equ_v6.jpg

%IM%convert ^
  %SRC% ^
  -channel RGB ^
  -equalize ^
  equ_v6_rgb.jpg

%IMG7%magick ^
  %SRC% ^
  -equalize ^
  equ_v7.jpg

%IMG7%magick ^
  %SRC% ^
  -channel RGB ^
  -equalize ^
  equ_v7_rgb.jpg
Input toes.jpg:
Image

Output v6 without channel setting:
Image

Output v6 with channel setting:
Image

Output v7 without channel setting:
Image

Output v7 with channel setting:
Image

The v7 outputs are the same as each other, and the same as v6 without the channel setting.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: v7 -equalize with -channel

Post by fmw42 »

I can verify the same on my Mac OSX the same with IM 6.9.4.2 and 7.0.1.4.
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: v7 -equalize with -channel

Post by magick »

Thanks for the problem report. We can reproduce it and will have a patch to fix it in GIT master branch @ https://github.com/ImageMagick/ImageMagick later today. The patch will be available in the beta releases of ImageMagick @ http://www.imagemagick.org/download/beta/ by sometime tomorrow.
Post Reply