loop not working?

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
coloring
Posts: 82
Joined: 2015-08-27T10:17:36-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

loop not working?

Post by coloring »

I have converted the following image with option : -loop 0
but it doesn't seem like it loops at all

https://www.sendspace.com/file/zc2v1q

anybody knows how to fix this please?


Note : i use IM v6
6.8.9.9-5+deb8u6
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: loop not working?

Post by fmw42 »

Please supply your full command line. It is hard to know if it is a bug or wrong syntax. What is your platform, since syntax may differ. Did you specify a delay? Did you put the delay before reading the input images?
coloring
Posts: 82
Joined: 2015-08-27T10:17:36-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: loop not working?

Post by coloring »

fmw42 wrote: 2017-03-19T11:17:42-07:00 Please supply your full command line. It is hard to know if it is a bug or wrong syntax. What is your platform, since syntax may differ. Did you specify a delay? Did you put the delay before reading the input images?
convert file.1.gif -coalesce -crop trimmer[0] +repage -loop 0 file.gif

I don't think a delay is specified, is it required?
how do you specify a delay?
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: loop not working?

Post by fmw42 »

what is "trimmer[0]"? -crop requires WxH+X+Y arguments

You should not need a -delay, but it is a good idea to put one it. Some viewers do not know how to handle it without a delay.
coloring
Posts: 82
Joined: 2015-08-27T10:17:36-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: loop not working?

Post by coloring »

just -delay? or does it require an argument?

-delay 0 maybe?

*edit, tested -delay 0 and it didn't make any difference :(
User avatar
GeeMack
Posts: 718
Joined: 2015-12-01T22:09:46-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: Central Illinois, USA

Re: loop not working?

Post by GeeMack »

coloring wrote: 2017-05-09T06:41:36-07:00just -delay? or does it require an argument?

-delay 0 maybe?

*edit, tested -delay 0 and it didn't make any difference
The "-delay" setting requires an argument of the length of delay in 1/100th seconds.You should probably get familiar with the various settings described near the top of THIS page. You'll find a lot of helpful information there.
coloring
Posts: 82
Joined: 2015-08-27T10:17:36-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: loop not working?

Post by coloring »

---
Last edited by coloring on 2017-06-04T19:05:16-07:00, edited 1 time in total.
coloring
Posts: 82
Joined: 2015-08-27T10:17:36-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: loop not working?

Post by coloring »

GeeMack wrote: 2017-05-09T07:00:09-07:00
coloring wrote: 2017-05-09T06:41:36-07:00just -delay? or does it require an argument?

-delay 0 maybe?

*edit, tested -delay 0 and it didn't make any difference
The "-delay" setting requires an argument of the length of delay in 1/100th seconds.You should probably get familiar with the various settings described near the top of THIS page. You'll find a lot of helpful information there.
adding the delay makes no difference

could there be another reason why the loop isn't working? or is it a bug?
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: loop not working?

Post by fmw42 »

Please identify your exact command line with actual values, not code with arguments and your input file. Perhaps your code is not getting parsed correctly. Can you provide a simple example command and image that fails, so we can try to reproduce it on your version of ImageMagick.
coloring
Posts: 82
Joined: 2015-08-27T10:17:36-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: loop not working?

Post by coloring »

sample https://www.sendspace.com/file/nz3pkj

source :
0.gif

commands :
convert 0.gif -loop 0 1.gif
convert 0.gif -loop 0 -delay 0 2.gif

the output don't seem to have loop
User avatar
GeeMack
Posts: 718
Joined: 2015-12-01T22:09:46-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: Central Illinois, USA

Re: loop not working?

Post by GeeMack »

coloring wrote: 2017-06-13T04:27:40-07:00commands :
convert 0.gif -loop 0 1.gif
convert 0.gif -loop 0 -delay 0 2.gif

the output don't seem to have loop
Put "-delay 10" before reading in the input, or use "-set delay 10" after. Try one of these...

Code: Select all

convert -delay 10 0.gif -loop 0 1.gif

Code: Select all

convert 0.gif -set delay 10 -loop 0 1.gif
coloring
Posts: 82
Joined: 2015-08-27T10:17:36-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: loop not working?

Post by coloring »

GeeMack wrote: 2017-06-13T06:55:29-07:00 Put "-delay 10" before reading in the input, or use "-set delay 10" after. Try one of these...
As usual GeeMack is the one true wizard and delivers win and magnificence

\o/ Praise
[ ]
/ \
coloring
Posts: 82
Joined: 2015-08-27T10:17:36-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: loop not working?

Post by coloring »

bad news, this set delay parameter speeds up the gif animation sometimes and this is unwanted

is there another way to fix the loop?
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: loop not working?

Post by fmw42 »

Just set the longer delay, if it is too quick. The problem is that often viewers do not know how to handle animations without a delay. They can get different delays set by the viewer, so you won't get a consistent looking delay (result) across various viewers. Set the delay to what you want equivalent to what you see on your viewer and it should be consistent as long as the delay is there.
coloring
Posts: 82
Joined: 2015-08-27T10:17:36-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: loop not working?

Post by coloring »

^ I don't process files individually, I need a setting that is functional for every gif, working loop without altering the animation speed

is imagemagick unable to do that?
Post Reply