"Insufficient image data" error with a couple of BMPs

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
Dinkleberg
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-11-15T19:08:06-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

"Insufficient image data" error with a couple of BMPs

Post by Dinkleberg » 2018-11-15T19:14:43-07:00

They're probably badly made BMPs, but hey, other programs can process them, why can't Imagemagick?

Code: Select all

$ identify -version
Version: ImageMagick 6.9.10-11 Q16 x86_64 2018-09-08 https://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: © 1999-2018 ImageMagick Studio LLC
License: https://www.imagemagick.org/script/license.php
Features: Cipher DPC OpenMP
Delegates (built-in): autotrace bzlib cairo fftw fontconfig fpx freetype gslib jbig jng jp2 jpeg lcms lzma pangocairo png ps rsvg tiff webp x xml zlib
$ identify rudolf_weapon.bmp
identify: insufficient image data in file `rudolf_weapon.bmp' @ error/bmp.c/ReadBMPImage/970.
$ identify henry_wind.bmp
identify: insufficient image data in file `henry_wind.bmp' @ error/bmp.c/ReadBMPImage/970.
$ identify jan_chaseh.bmp
identify: insufficient image data in file `jan_chaseh.bmp' @ error/bmp.c/ReadBMPImage/970.
Files here: https://my.mixtape.moe/bxoyta.zip

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25273
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: "Insufficient image data" error with a couple of BMPs

Post by fmw42 » 2018-11-15T20:36:24-07:00

I get the same message with IM 6.9.10.14 Q16 Mac OSX. I can open them with Mac Preview, GraphicConverter and Photoshop.

I even tried prefacing with BMP: BMP3: and BMP2:, but that did not work, either.

User avatar
dlemstra
Posts: 1563
Joined: 2013-05-04T15:28:54-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Contact:

Re: "Insufficient image data" error with a couple of BMPs

Post by dlemstra » 2018-11-15T23:32:48-07:00

Thanks for the problem report. We can reproduce it and will have a patch to fix it in GIT master branch @ https://github.com/ImageMagick/ImageMagick later today. The patch will be available in the beta releases of ImageMagick @ https://www.imagemagick.org/download/beta/ by sometime tomorrow.
.NET + ImageMagick = Magick.NET https://github.com/dlemstra/Magick.NET, @MagickNET, Donate

Post Reply