[Resolved] convert.exe missing from 7.0.1-Q16?

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Charlie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2016-06-06T07:32:24-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: convert still missing ?

Post by Charlie » 2016-06-07T04:10:38-07:00

Thanks for your answers.
fmw42 wrote:What was your command? What changes did you make when you say you used "magick"? Please clarify.
This is my command:

Code: Select all

transitions.sh -m wipe -f 21 -d 10 -p 10 mapnude.jpg map.jpg maskfile.jpg out.mp4
In the script, I replaced the word "convert" with "magick".

@Fred, how would you get the script running with IM 7.0.1.9 ? Did you actually get "convert" included in that package ?
@snibgo: I didn't know that, thanks.

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25577
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: [Resolved] convert.exe missing from 7.0.1-Q16?

Post by fmw42 » 2016-06-07T09:25:06-07:00

Use the original script that uses convert. Make a symbolic link between convert and magick. That should have come automatically if you installed from binary. Then the script should work fine with convert.

I did a global search and replace in the script from convert to magick and the script worked fine for me that way.

Perhaps you new configuration is not set up for mp4. Have you tried making an output animation in gif format?

Charlie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2016-06-06T07:32:24-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: [Resolved] convert.exe missing from 7.0.1-Q16?

Post by Charlie » 2016-06-09T06:58:38-07:00

Yes, I've tried generating a gif, here are my results:
I'm on Windows 10 x64. Command is run from a Git Bash shell.
./transitions -m wipe -f 21 -d 10 -p 10 mapnude.jpg map.jpg maskfile.jpg out.mp4
./transitions -m wipe -f 21 -d 10 -p 10 mapnude.jpg map.jpg maskfile.jpg out.gif

Code: Select all

$ convert --version
Version: ImageMagick 6.9.4-7 Q16 x64 2016-06-03 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2015 ImageMagick Studio LLC
License: http://www.imagemagick.org/script/license.php
Visual C++: 180040629
Features: Cipher DPC Modules OpenMP
Delegates (built-in): bzlib cairo flif freetype jng jp2 jpeg lcms lqr openexr pangocairo png ps rsvg tiff webp xml zlib
---> MP4 and GIF are OK :)



Then I created a symbolic link with the following command (after doing a backup of the original convert.exe):

Code: Select all

mklink /H "C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-6.9.4-Q16\convert.exe" "C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-7.0.1-Q16\magick.exe"

Code: Select all

$ convert --version
Version: ImageMagick 7.0.1-9 Q16 x64 2016-06-03 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2015 ImageMagick Studio LLC
License: http://www.imagemagick.org/script/license.php
Visual C++: 180040629
Features: Cipher DPC Modules OpenMP
Delegates (built-in): bzlib cairo flif freetype jng jp2 jpeg lcms lqr openexr pangocairo png ps rsvg tiff webp xml zlib
--> MP4 is an empty file: command fails with the following line:

Code: Select all

magick.exe: delegate failed `"ffmpeg.exe" -nostdin -v -1 -i "%f%%d.jpg" "%u.%m"' @ error/delegate.c/InvokeDelegate/1846.
---> GIF is generated, but colors are wrong: see it here http://postimg.org/image/m3p8abkp7/



Finally I did a global search and replace in the script from convert to magick.
--> MP4 fails with same error than above.
---> GIF is OK.


Is there a configuration to set up with ffmpeg? Are you on Windows too?
Thanks

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25577
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: [Resolved] convert.exe missing from 7.0.1-Q16?

Post by fmw42 » 2016-06-09T09:42:03-07:00

You seem to be making a symbolic link between IM 6 convert and IM 7 magick. That is wrong. You need to create a symbolic link so that when calling IM 7 convert it finds IM 7 magick. I do not know what mklink is. That does not seem to be a unix symbolic link.

In unix

ln -s source_file myfile.

You need to find the Unix directory where IM 7 is installed and create the symbolic link there. Or copy and rename magick.exe to convert.exe assuming you have not installed the legacy convert.exe for IM 7.

I have no experience with Git Bash shell.

Sorry, this is all conjecture to me, since I have not done this before.

I do things differently to run IM 7 on my Mac without having to actually install it, since my installed version is IM 6.

Perhaps a Windows person can help you further.

Charlie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2016-06-06T07:32:24-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: [Resolved] convert.exe missing from 7.0.1-Q16?

Post by Charlie » 2016-06-10T07:19:56-07:00

Yes, I'm on Windows and things operate differently here, I guess.

We'll use your instructions when testing on Linux.

Thanks!

snibgo
Posts: 12163
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: [Resolved] convert.exe missing from 7.0.1-Q16?

Post by snibgo » 2016-06-10T07:31:06-07:00

mklink /H "C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-6.9.4-Q16\convert.exe" "C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-7.0.1-Q16\magick.exe"
"/H" gives you a hard link, not a symbolic link. I don't know why you want to create a link in a v6 directory to a v7 program. It seems like a bad idea.

On Windows, when we run v6 IM programs, it looks for other software in the same place. v7 doesn't. Is the v7 directory at the front of your system path? If it isn't, I suggest you try that.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25577
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: [Resolved] convert.exe missing from 7.0.1-Q16?

Post by fmw42 » 2016-06-10T09:26:06-07:00

On unix systems, then the symbolic link is supposedly created automatically during the make install command.

If my script runs fine without changing convert to magick in IM 7 for gif output, then the issue is your compile of ffmpeg, if it does not work with mp4 output.

When you are in IM 7, what do you get from

Code: Select all

path2im7/magick -version
and

Code: Select all

path2im7/convert -version

kitchin
Posts: 7
Joined: 2011-06-26T09:04:32-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: [Resolved] convert.exe missing from 7.0.1-Q16?

Post by kitchin » 2017-03-13T07:30:41-07:00

snibgo wrote:
2016-06-06T13:06:08-07:00
The difference is because v6 has a default "-channel" of "RGB,Sync" where v7's default is "RGBA,Sync". If we want the same result, we need to explicitly set "-channel".
The docs say the default in 7 is "RGBK,Sync".

Edit: that is in https://www.imagemagick.org/script/comm ... ptions.php
But it says "RGBA" in https://www.imagemagick.org/script/porting.php

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25577
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: [Resolved] convert.exe missing from 7.0.1-Q16?

Post by fmw42 » 2019-05-02T00:03:45-07:00

IM 7 treats alpha the same as the other channels. So if you want IM 6 behavior, then use -channel rgb

Post Reply