Question

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
dt59
Posts: 63
Joined: 2017-07-25T23:57:06-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Question

Post by dt59 »

hi, please hw do i start using imagemagick on a window cmd though i have imagemagick installed and its working correctly but i try to paste "
convert -size 320x100 xc:lightblue -font Candice -pointsize 72 \
-tile pattern:checkerboard -annotate +28+68 'Anthony' \
font_tile.jpg"
on my cmd but wasn't working the way i had expected it, pls help me, am really new to imagemagick. always getting an error such as: 'font_tile.jpg' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Question

Post by snibgo »

Backslash "\" is the line-continuation character for bash. For Windows CMD or BAT, use the caret "^"
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
dt59
Posts: 63
Joined: 2017-07-25T23:57:06-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Question

Post by dt59 »

after replacing the ''\" to "^" . am stil getting error of ''Invalid Parameter - 320x100' these what i typed into the window cmd
"convert -size 320x100 xc:lightblue -font Candice -pointsize 72 ^
-tile pattern:checkerboard -annotate +28+68 'Anthony' ^
font_tile.jpg"
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: Question

Post by Bonzo »

Did you allow Imagemagick to add itself to the environmental variables path? You may be using the built in windows convert program that renames files.

It works OK for me except I do not have that font installed.
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Question

Post by snibgo »

As Bonzo suggests, "Invalid Parameter" is a message from the Microsoft program, not from ImageMagick.

@dt59: What version of IM did you install? Where did you download it from? Did you check the installation had worked? Does it have "convert.exe" or "magick.exe"?
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
dt59
Posts: 63
Joined: 2017-07-25T23:57:06-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Question

Post by dt59 »

@Bonzo ur site is down, i thought i could get some tutorial from there, however i allowed imagmagick to add itself to the environmental variables path is that the cause??
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: Question

Post by Bonzo »

No if it is added automatically it should work; that is what I do.

You can add the path to convert in your code for example: C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-7.0.5-Q16\convert.exe or you can rename convert.exe to something else for instance IMconvert and use that in your code instead of convert.

If using version 7 use magick instead of convert.

Thank you for the note about my site; the links are now working. A problem with a site update and now using https; although it should have redirected automatically.
dt59
Posts: 63
Joined: 2017-07-25T23:57:06-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Question

Post by dt59 »

oh..! my image magick is not still working after many reading and watching. i dont know what to do again. can somebody please just me.
i typed:
"convert -size 320x100 xc:lightblue -font Candice -pointsize 72 ^
-tile pattern:checkerboard -annotate +28+68 'Anthony' ^
font_tile.jpg"
is not working am not seeing anything nice all i see is an error every time. and am running at of time for school. pls some body should me. the code is nt the problem but hw to get it start working on my machine.
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Question

Post by snibgo »

dt59 wrote:... is not working am not seeing anything nice all i see is an error every time.
What error do you see?

If you get "Invalid Parameter", see comments above.

You didn't answer my questions:
snibgo wrote:@dt59: What version of IM did you install? Where did you download it from? Did you check the installation had worked? Does it have "convert.exe" or "magick.exe"?
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
dt59
Posts: 63
Joined: 2017-07-25T23:57:06-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Question

Post by dt59 »

@snibgo am sorry for not replying. here is the version of IM:
Version: ImageMagick 7.0.6-3 Q16 x64 2017-07-24 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2015 ImageMagick Studio LLC
License: http://www.imagemagick.org/script/license.php
Visual C++: 180040629.
I downloaded it from www.imagemagick.org.
can i check if image magick is working correctly.
yes i ahve magick.exe install
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Question

Post by fmw42 »

Invalid parameter probably means your are accessing the Windows convert and not the ImageMagick convert. But you have installed IM 7, so you do not want convert. You want to use magick.

Code: Select all

magick -size 320x100 xc:lightblue -font Candice -pointsize 72 ^
-tile pattern:checkerboard -annotate +28+68 'Anthony' ^
font_tile.jpg
dt59
Posts: 63
Joined: 2017-07-25T23:57:06-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Question

Post by dt59 »

yes u are right fmw42. but here is another problem(window cmd -> error i get after typing the above code u suggested)

Code: Select all

magick: unable to read font `Candice' @ warning/annotate.c/RenderType/986.
magick: unable to open image 'font_tile.jpg': Permission denied @ error/blob.c/O
penBlob/3109.
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: Question

Post by Bonzo »

Simple the font Candice is either not installed or not registered with Imagemagick; try a different font. The first error then creates the second error and so on.
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Question

Post by fmw42 »

If you have font Candice on your system, then you can use -font path2/Candice.ttf rather than just the name. To get the name only, you need to modify your type.xml file to add that font after you put it on your system.
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Question

Post by fmw42 »

You can download Candice font at for example: https://fonts2u.com/candice.font
Post Reply