Multiple annotating not possible?

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
Unikat2000

Multiple annotating not possible?

Post by Unikat2000 »

hi,

i am new to imagemagick and this forum :)

i have a problem with following command line

Code: Select all

"C:\Programme\ImageMagick-6.3.7-Q16\convert" -size 320x200 xc:#B3B3B3FF -pointsize 18 -annotate +50+50 "TEST 1" -annotate +100+100 "TEST 2"  -annotate +150+150 "TEST 3" "C:\123.png"
it should produce a picture with three text phrases with different locations but instead this is the ouput

Image

TEST 1 seems to be located correctly but the two others are placed mostly the picture. whats wrong?

sorry if this is a noob question :)
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: Multiple annotating not possible?

Post by Bonzo »

It works OK for me on windows XP version 6.3.7 using:

Code: Select all

convert -size 320x200 xc:#B3B3B3FF -pointsize 18 -annotate +50+50 "TEST 1" -annotate +100+100 "TEST 2"  -annotate +150+150 "TEST 3" "C:\123.png"
You can see some of your text disapearing off the image, try putting something like -annotate +100-100 "TEST 2" for the second bit of text and see what happens.
Unikat2000

Re: Multiple annotating not possible?

Post by Unikat2000 »

thx for your reply Bonzo :)

do you get get an image, where the text phrases are positioned correctly?

-annotate +100-100 "TEST 2" doesnt help...same ouput....could it be localization problem?
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: Multiple annotating not possible?

Post by Bonzo »

It may be something to do with your setup I suppose.

Image
Unikat2000

Re: Multiple annotating not possible?

Post by Unikat2000 »

this is exactly the way it should look like ... i have no idea whats the problem :(

i used this http://www.imagemagick.org/download/binaries/ImageMagick-6.3.7-6-Q16-windows-dll.exe
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: Multiple annotating not possible?

Post by Bonzo »

I am using ImageMagick-6.3.7-0-Q16-windows-dll.exe

Hopefuly el_supremo or Anthony will take a look at this post and come up with an idea.
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: Multiple annotating not possible?

Post by Bonzo »

Try adding a -gravity northwest e.g.

Code: Select all

convert -size 320x200 xc:#B3B3B3FF -pointsize 18 -gravity northwest -annotate +50+50 "TEST 1" -annotate +100+100 "TEST 2"  -annotate +150+150 "TEST 3" "C:\123.png"
Unikat2000

Re: Multiple annotating not possible?

Post by Unikat2000 »

Bonzo wrote:Try adding a -gravity northwest e.g.

Code: Select all

convert -size 320x200 xc:#B3B3B3FF -pointsize 18 -gravity northwest -annotate +50+50 "TEST 1" -annotate +100+100 "TEST 2" -annotate +150+150 "TEST 3" "C:\123.png"
Image

this is my result...... it really looks like, that the y-value of annotate isnt processed correctly
el_supremo
Posts: 1015
Joined: 2005-03-21T21:16:57-07:00

Re: Multiple annotating not possible?

Post by el_supremo »

I tried that command with ImageMagick 6.3.5 07/31/07 Q8 and I get the same result as Bonzo posted. At the moment I can't think of a reason why it would fail for Unikat2000.

Pete
Unikat2000

Re: Multiple annotating not possible?

Post by Unikat2000 »

i will test IM on a fresh english winxp version tommorrow...


EDIT: ok i have done the install and i found out that the whole issue is related to Regional Options in the Regional and Language Opions Panel

if i use English (United States) it produces the correct ouput like Bonze posted.... with German (Germany) it gives me the output i have posted....

....so what can i do... i dont want to set my configuration to English (United States), cause i believe that this will lead to problem in other applications.....
Post Reply